Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Out of the box ?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by QUARTZ, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. QUARTZ

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    OMG, big failure,
    My pro arrived and I was like kid in a toy shop at Christmas.
    However all this "fly from the box" is hard to believe.
    First thing the manual says is charge the batteries, copter. Battery took 1 hour, controller battery took overnight. Never mind, batteries charged and on to the next step. Upgrade the firmware.
    I have downloaded the latest version from DJI but win zip will not open a "bin file" nor will 7zip. Job stopped.
    I have now had the kit for 2 days and not even put the rotors on.
    HELP ME PLEASE.

    Chris W has suggested I just fly with the firmware that is installed, so I did. Yipee I am now part of the gang :)

    So here comes the questions,
    1, firmware upgrade issue
    2. first flight (all of 3 mins) the video is jittery when using quick time player, any thoughts would be gratefully received.
    3. underneath where I am typing this now it says "tags" what is that?
     
    ChrisW likes this.
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,591
    Location:
    US
    You don't need to open the BIN after unzipping it. Follow these instructions to install the firmware.

    It's likely a performance-related issue with your computer. Try a different player, get a faster computer, or don't shoot video in 4K.

    It's an optional field to allow your post to be categorized in this forum. For example, you could enter "P3P" if your post pertains to P3Ps.
     
  3. QUARTZ

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you,
     
  4. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    Mine is all choppy when I use quicktime too. But my 4k video plays flawlessly on my Windows 10 desktop with Windows media player, but it won't play at all on my laptop with Windows 7! I think I heard somewhere that it is a codec that needs to be added.
     
  5. QUARTZ

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks MiQuad,
    Updating to 10 as we speak.