Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Orthomap Software?

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by Orden, Jan 22, 2016.

  1. Orden

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm really interested in purchasing a drone and understand what I want and the process for it. But I have a question and thought this would be a good place to ask.

    I would like to purchase or just research and get an idea on prices for the best software that makes Orthomaps. Can anyone please give me a list of the top 5 or top 10??

    Thanks ahead of time!
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    Agisoft Photoscan is probably the most commonly used program.
    There are also services that provide aps for capturing and they process the images to produce the orthophoto etc for you
    Look for DroneDeploy, Maps Made Easy and Pix4D.
     
  3. Orden

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I'll look into it! DroneDeploy, I hear, is fairly buggy still though isn't it?? I heard lots of great things about it but a couple small things, such as offline map tile caching?
     
    #3 Orden, Jan 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2016
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    I used it a little a couple of months ago to try it out and didn't notice any problems
     
  5. Dale Rodgers

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    27
    I've played with Opendronemap on Linux is you're into tinkering (and free).

    It just does the 3d stitching into a mesh (opened with meshlab).

    No routre planning, no fancy viewers. But free.

    Routes could be done in litchi
     
  6. Orden

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    Are you using android or apple?? I also heard/read that the battery isnt showing up properly on the dronedeploy app. So I was told to watch it manually to bring it to homebase before the battery runs out.
     
  7. NimpoCub

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Nimpo Lake, BC
    Can I download/load a somewhat local map or will I haft'a load a whole N America one?
     
  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    I'm using Apple and didn't see any problem with battery display.
    Here's a screenshot I made of DroneDeploy doing a 35 acre survey
    [​IMG]
    And here's a very much shrunken version of the rectified orthophoto created from 115 images in the grid above
    [​IMG]
    You work from a local area map.