opinions on this photo?

Reaction score
I'm not sure if this is the best place to ask or not but I'm trying to improve my photos so they aren't as dull. I often fly in the desert and most pictures come out semi colorless looking washed out and the sun can make it worse.

This was my first ever attempt at editing a very dull uninteresting pic in lightroom. This was with protune off from my gopro 3+. In the original the sky was a bit washed out by the sun. To the left corner the sun was shining.

I tried to bring out the blue in the sky and make it more colorful from the bland looking desert.

Did I over do it with the color or does it still look like a real photo? Comments are appreciated.
10ykz1x.jpg

This was the original photo btw
96gb6b.jpg

I like the sky. Normal skies are pretty boring. That why so many use a polarizer filter to darken the sky against clouds providing your scene is at the max angle to the sun for best effect.

I'm very new with light room. The sky could have been bumped down on saturation a bit and I think some of the rock areas got too dark. I used to throw away a lot of my pictures because the colors looked too dull. It will be an ongoing learning process. At least I feel like I have found a good tool and starting process to use. I have a light room book to use that I haven't read yet. I just followed a tutorial to do my first edit with this last night.

Thanks for the comments. :cool:

To help you can get a circular polarising filter which will give your colours a bit of a bump up :)

I almost always fly with my polar pro CP on unless it's bright mid day then I may swap it for the ND. Possibly the original photo from last year was before I had the CP. I just tried to pick a fairly dull photo to practice editing.

I think you've done well with such a dull shot to start with,maybe just slightly over saturated.