Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

One controller for two birds?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Hugh-1, Jun 11, 2016.

  1. Hugh-1

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    long story but bottom line is I have two birds, a Pro and Advanced, but only one controller. Can I use the one controller for both birds. I know I will have to bind it each time I switch birds but that only takes a minute. Are there any problems doing this? Thanks.
     
  2. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    None, that come to mind. Not sure that you would have to rebind them, each time you change drones.
    Have you tried it, with them both yet?

    RedHotPoker
     
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes you will need to relink RC to an AC before flying. In short, RC can work with any P3A or P3P provided its linked to it and only it can link to one aircraft at any time.
     
  4. Gazzer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nr Bolton, Lancashire, UK
    I share an RC with two P3P's, with no problems. 15 seconds to relink. I'm even thinking of sending 1 up on a litchi mission then linking the other one and filming the litchi mission bird with that bird.
     
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Will you still have control over both drones?
    Seems highly unlikely.
    But because you haven't tried it yet, we don't know for certain.
    Please do Post the video though. ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
  6. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,152
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    You can do this if you set auto landing after completing the mission as you will have no remote left to control it.
     
  7. Gazzer

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nr Bolton, Lancashire, UK
    You are correct the litchi mission is planned to auto land at a waypoint same gps position as home point because as you say the rc is linked to the "filming" bird.