Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Old motors

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by anotherinfidel, Feb 14, 2016.

  1. anotherinfidel

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I have the old motors and shell. I bought this about 40 days ago. The seller said I can return it for a refund, then I could get the updated version.

    Should I mess with it? Everything works fine btw.




    Sent from Kansas City, home of the Royals, land of the Chiefs.
     
  2. Gizmoh

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Old motor Model has more Power Output (up to 20%) in terms of signal transmission than new model.

    see here: New or old motors phantom 3
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,056
    Likes Received:
    5,611
    Location:
    US
    It's really your call. If you think the newer version is going to be beneficial, then go for it. Personally, I'd stick with what you have if all is working well. There is really no benefit to trading yours in for the updated version.
     
    Sinisalo likes this.
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    3,466
    Everything is working fine? I'd suggest then, that there's no reason to exchange.
    You'll find dozens of threads here debating new/old motors including a lot of uninformed material.
    Here's a post from someone that can explain what (little) difference it really makes.
    New or old motors phantom 3
     
    Sinisalo likes this.
  5. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    326
    if what you have works and your pictures are in focus I would keep it. I believe there is a batch with bad lenses (not just incorrectly focused) and if you run into that problem you will regret taking the working one back.
     
  6. Moonie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    20% more signal that's not right at all. How do you figure that? I can't and I've owned both. More power? Yes. Quicker? Yes. More heat to the battery? Yes. More likely to damage battery in cold or hot weather? Yes. Do to more amp draw. No signal diffrents.
     
  7. Gizmoh

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2

    FCC ID SS3-WM3231501

    FCC ID SS3-WM3221503 by SZ DJI TECHNOLOGY CO., LTD for Phantom 3 Professional output wattage .729 - April 2015
    FCC ID SS3-WM3221507 by SZ DJI TECHNOLOGY CO., LTD for Phantom 3 Professional output wattage .63 - July 2015
    FCC ID SS3-WM3221510 by SZ DJI TECHNOLOGY CO., LTD for Phantom 3 Professional output wattage .55 - November 2015