Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Nvidia shield tablet Dji Pilot App problem

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by GhostMaster, Jun 13, 2015.

  1. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    Hi, anyone with the Android 5.1 to the nvidia shield tablet getting errors in the dji pilot app?

    After the update I got a Google maps error that closes the app and opens it again after some seconds.

    This error:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    Solutions? I already sent a email to dji, no answer yet...
     
  3. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    This not only happens on the shield, its across all android and ios devices, plenty info in the forum about it if you search.
     
  4. Coldfire

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    90
    I get that error every now and again on my note 4.
     
  5. taroh

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Yokohama, Japan/Taichung, Taiwan
    Same error on same tablet. I found /DJI/dji.pilot/LOG/CRASH/*.txt -
    java.lang.RuntimeException: Unable to resume activity {dji.pilot/dji.pilot.usercenter.activity.DJIFlightRecordPlayerActivity}: java.lang.NullPointerException
    at android.app.ActivityThread.performResumeActivity(ActivityThread.java:2798)
    (snip)

    Did it sent to DJI?
     
  6. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    From what I see deleting the cache should fix it or or miss something else?
     
  7. n6vmo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Lompoc, CA.
  8. Tom Donnelly

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Nanaimo, BC
    After looking the error I believe it has something to do with the android operating system
     
    #8 Tom Donnelly, Jun 13, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2015
  9. mtnmaddman

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    20
    Dji is aware of this I made blade strike aware of this last week that java was looping he passed it on to dji they are working on solution problem on lollipop is worse the java looping is causing the overheating its overrunning the processor constantly restarting and stopping its called looping I am the developer of the nebula alien sunglasses fpv wireless system I was recieving the java looping crash report in my software it probably will be fixed in a few days
     
  10. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Done that, problem still exists now and again. I'm convinced its a problem with the firmware itself.
     
  11. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
  12. Mr Poah

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the exact same problem - so far, with my P3 Advance I have used:

    Sony Z3 Compact phone = Runs great, no problems, but screen too small so bought a
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 8.4 = No crashes, but awful lag resulting in tree crash, so I sold and bought an
    NVIDIA Shield Tablet = No lag, but crashes every 15 minutes or so, exactly the same as above - the app automatically reopens quite quickly but it is pretty disconcerting to say the least.

    Anyone heard anything from DJI about this?
     
  13. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    Downgrade Google play service and Google maps and it's fine, dji is aware of the issue and it's already trying to fix it.
     
  14. Mr Poah

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks very much for responding - I will give that a go. Just to be clear, when you say 'downgrade' you mean go to the app's settings and click uninstall updates or whatever it is??
     
  15. ScottyT

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Yeah, pretty much.This is so common I just copy and paste an old post now:

    1. 'Play Store' app > Settings > Auto-update apps > "Do not..." to turn off automatic updating

    2. 'Settings' app> Security > Device Administrators" and uncheck/deactivate "Android Device Manager" as a device administrator

    3. 'Settings' app> Applications > Application Manager > ALL (scroll right if needed to see this option) > Google Play Services > Disable (or Uninstall)... then choose to uninstall any updates from the stock version when prompted.

    4. 'Settings' app> Applications > Application Manager > ALL > Google Play Services > Enable ....this will enable the older stock version of google play services

    Ignore future upgrade requests for Google Maps etc as that will upgrade Google Play Services also. (until there is a proper fix from DJI)

    from:

    http://forum.dji.com/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=16777&page=17#pid151670

    Read through page 16/17/18 of this thread for more background on this possible workaround.
     
    funkdoobies and Mr Poah like this.
  16. Mr Poah

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much, really appreciate your help.
     
  17. ScottyT

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    No sweat. That should make things a lot better, reducing lag also.
     
  18. Mr Poah

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wondering whether this would've improved the Galaxy Tab S now! :) Still, the tab in general was pretty laggy with all the Samsung crap-ware on top so switching to NVIDIA tab probs still a good idea...
     
  19. ScottyT

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Yeah it will do - I have the Tab S and had to do this to make it usable. The Samsung bloat (as much as I hate it) doesn't have much to do with the issue, it's just something people like to point the finger at.

    Hopefully DJI can re-engineer their CPU intensive app, otherwise this will be as good as it gets on Android.
     
  20. Mr Poah

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found the Samsung to just be plain slow in many normal operations which I was really surprised at given the specs. Was a real shame as the hardware was really nice. So I have rolled play services back but haven't taken phantom out yet, will update with results. It sure sucks having most Google apps rendered useless though. I re-updated maps as it's one of the few apps I us all the time... Hoping rolling that one back isn't a necessity....