Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Nvidia Shield K1 Setup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hawkeye62, Mar 23, 2016.

  1. hawkeye62

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sandy, Utah
    I have a Phantom 3 Advanced and an Nvidia Shield K1 on order. I would like to eliminate any load on the K1 except for what the P3A requires. Does anyone have any tips for what to delete, what to turn off, what to disable, etc. etc.?

    Thanks for any advice.

    Regards, Jim
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,870
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    The Shield is a beast. Just shut down any apps you're not using and you should be good to go.
     
  3. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    I got mine and just run it like it is only use for the bird works great
     
  4. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Girard. ohio
    Nothing
    just do any updates and good to go.
     
  5. hawkeye62

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Sandy, Utah
    OK! Thanks for the advice.

    Jim
     
  6. tberton

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    9
    Does it have GPS on it. The k1
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,870
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    Yes.
     
  8. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    Is there a particular model of the Shield that is best for the P3A running some of the apps such as Litchi tracking?
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,870
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    You want the latest version -- the Nvidia Shield K1. There was a previous version that had an issue which could potentially cause the battery to catch on fire.
     
  10. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    So the 2.2 Ghz CPU and the 2 GB of RAM will handle anything that Litchi throws at it? Does it have internal compass and GPS? Sorry for all the questions but I'm currently using a Samsung Galaxy TAB4 and it does not play well with the more demanding Litchi modes such as tracking.
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,870
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    Yes and Yes. It's a powerful tablet. I'd be surprised if you could find something it's not able to handle.
     
  12. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    Thanks for your help!
     
  13. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    Would you recommend updating the OS from lollipop to marshmallow? I ordered the Shield today.
     
  14. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    I theft mine on lollipop heard some storys about upgrade works great so left it way it came