Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Nvidia Shield K1 owners - new update today

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by FotoGeek, Dec 21, 2015.

  1. FotoGeek

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    52
    Nvidia released Android 6.0 Marshmallow for the Shield! Go!
     
    #1 FotoGeek, Dec 21, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2015
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,863
    Likes Received:
    5,557
    Location:
    US
    Awesome! I'm updating now.
     
  3. Elmojo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    16
    So what's your take on marshmallow on the Shield K1?
    I just ordered a Shield for use with my P3a, and I'm wondering if you've run into any issues that would make me want to wait on the update.
     
  4. DeeX

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Magic Kingdom, FL
    I want to know this too. I heard that the K1 was buggy especially with Marshmallow..
    Being around the android community, I would feel uneasy about having a unstable device flying a drone.
     
  5. NCFlyGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    North Carolina
    If you haven't updated to Marshmallow already, don't do it just yet! Nvidia has been slow to get a proper fix out for the compass failure. I'm sure others who have made the move to Marshmallow will agree with the above. The Shield K1 is awesome as is with the P3P and with HDMI output for FPV goggles like the Headplay unit is the bee's knees.
     
  6. DeeX

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Magic Kingdom, FL
    You should keep this thread updated lol...
    So the tablet is good if its still on Lollipop?
     
  7. NCFlyGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    North Carolina
    It's better than on Marshmallow for sure.
     
  8. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Does anyone know if the Shield K1 will fit in the DJI hard shell backpack?
     
  9. NCFlyGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    North Carolina
    It will not fit inside. I was a bit disappointed about this. I guess it may fit if you were to modify the foam, I didn't bother to try. I don't mind though as the Shield K1 is awesome with it.
    Perhaps someone else was successful and can post pictures of what they did to get it to fit. But in its stock form, the K1 will not fit.
     
  10. FotoGeek

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    52
    It fits inside mine.. without a case. it's a snug fit in one of the side slots, and has to go in before the drone. The slots are foam so they are flexible.
     
  11. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Perfect thanks for that. I will be ordering one then. Any chance you could post a picture of it sitting inside.
     
    #11 fin032, Feb 16, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2016
  12. wooglin

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    29
    My iPadAir 2 fits and it only took a small bit of modification, the shield is smaller and should be easy.
     
  13. NCFlyGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Yes, please post some pictures of your case layout. I like to carry everything when I go out with it; charger, charging hub, spare props, harness, ND filter kit. So, I just keep it separated and thank goodness I haven't forgotten to take the Shield with me. I may have just jinxed myself though.
    So again, please post some pictures.
     
  14. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Mines should be here on Saturday to hoping it fits.
     
  15. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Ok the so the k1 showed up today and wouldn't fit in my Dji backpack . Had to start cutting, first picture shows the way at sat before cutting. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1455923654.214018.jpg
    The next shows you can force it down a bit but there's no way the Phantom will fit on top.
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1455923757.793288.jpg
    Next few pictures show the way it sits after cutting.
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1455923854.680453.jpg
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1455923880.899591.jpg
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1455923906.236319.jpg
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1455923933.756753.jpg
     
  16. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Few thing to ask about the K1. Is it normal for the camera view not to fill the full screen? Does the k1 not show the map and radar at the same time (black lines top and bottom). Mines doesn't seem to. I am sure I have seen videos on YouTube that so both on the K1
     
  17. DeeX

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Magic Kingdom, FL
    Screenshot?

    Sent from my SM-N910T3 using Tapatalk
     
  18. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    You can see the map goes to the edge of the screen but the camera view doesn't. Also no radar. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1455929812.620529.jpg
     
  19. fin032

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland