Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Nvidia Shield K1 - connection issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jonesg11, May 16, 2016.

  1. jonesg11

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Northern VT
    Hi guys,

    My guess is this is user error, but I just received my new shield today. I've got a USB to micro USB cable just from my desk that I've been trying to use, but no luck.

    I've only installed the DJI app and hooked up with that cable but keep getting the "how to connect" option on the app.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,866
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    After opening DJI GO, swipe down from the top of the screen and make sure the USB connection mode is not set to charging.
     
  3. jonesg11

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Northern VT
    Again, its probably me but I'm not finding that option...
     
  4. kcmusa

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Virginia
    when I got mine, I updated the thing off wi-fi.
    installed DJI app.
    connected to transmitter, when transmitter is turned on the DJI app asks to open.
     
  5. jonesg11

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Northern VT
    Yea, thats how its been working on my Samsung Galaxy phone that I've been using for several weeks, not sure what my hang up is here.

    Could it have anything to do with the latest firmware update? I had not updated on my phone but of course a new DJI app install on the tablet would be the latest... possible?
     
  6. jonesg11

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Northern VT
    So I went in and found a way to open up developer options. I set it to debug mode and made sure that the USB connection is set to MTP but still no luck. I tried contacting Nvidia support and that was a waste of time, round and round for a long time just to be told to get a new cable. I've tried 3 different ones that I have and no difference, every time they're plugged in it charges the device. I've restarted, factory restart, anything I can think of.... argh
     
  7. jonesg11

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Northern VT
    Well, it seems to be a recurring theme with these tablets. I was getting very frustrated and went through my junk drawer, pulled out an old unused cable and tried it.... well it worked! This is really strange and I wish there was an easier way to figure this out.

    Oh well, at least its solved now.
     
  8. kcmusa

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Virginia
    glad you figured it out.
    I remember I had a Garmin GPS unit I tried to upgrade. I used a cable i had sitting around. Didn't work. found out later some cheap cables are for charging only, they dont have all the pings connected.