Nubee need help

Reaction score
I saw some videos of a DJI phantom 2 about a week ago, wow!!

Im new to quads, please help with some questions.

I would use this to record jet boating and buggy adventures among other things, personal use. My kids and i would have a blast making movies.

Would the phanton 2 be my best bet?
Is the gimbal what stabilizes the camera and rotates the view? what is the best one?
Would a gopro here 2 work, or do I need the 3gopro hero 3, been thinking about buying a new one anyway.
I saw a video of someone wearing glasses and could see what he was recording, do you know what those glasses are, or whats the best option?

What do i need to get started, please talk to me in simple terms.

Thanks so much, Im super excited!!!

Maybe I can answer some of your questions,

Phantom 2 is preconfigured to take a 2 axis gimbal which is the cradle configuration that holds the camera and stabilizes the vibration of the quad to smooth out the visuals. I actually have the Phantom Vision 2 ( 1 axis gimbal ) with the camera as part of the setup.
If your looking for better quality video and stabilized footage the Phantom 2 is prepped to take a Zemuse gimbal and you'll need that gopro 3 in addition.
FPV viewing while in flight requires additional setup and expense Goggles (probably FATSHARK ) requires the installation of a transmitter connected to your go-pro which is usually installed on the external underside of the drone, but if your looking for cost effective setups check out the specs and videos available on YouTube before you commit.....Phantom vision 2 give you most of that but without the goggles using your iPhone or smart phone as the FPV device.

Hope that's of some help,

John

ninjamaster said:
I saw some videos of a DJI phantom 2 about a week ago, wow!!

Im new to quads, please help with some questions.

I would use this to record jet boating and buggy adventures among other things, personal use. My kids and i would have a blast making movies.