Novice Drone Pilot Welcomes hints, tips & advice

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am new to the world of drones. I recently purchased a DJI Phantom 3 Professional, which I haven't flown yet. I want to do everything right, so I am spending some time reading up and watching youtube videos etc. I am excited about my first flight and I would welcome any hints, tips or advice from anyone out there.

By the way.....I am in Scotland

Thanks for reading this and I look forward to your response

Cheers

Rick

Last edited:
Reactions: deltamike
Hi Rick,

What country are you in? It would be helpful to enter your country in your profile.;)

The first thing is to check that you are going to fly in safe airspace / areas, then start to learn to fly.

One great failing of beginners is that they read the manual but do not understand it.

The flight simulator is a boon. Have at least five hours practice on it and you will be well on your way. Its boring but necessary.

And heres another tip.

I don't know if this works for all DJI models but it did for my P3a, and its worth knowing.

I lost my aircraft but found it again without a tracker.

I lodged in a tree going backwards, I cut the motors but because I was looking at the screen I lost contact with the a/c with eyeball Mk1, but I could see on the Go app that I was at an altitude of 6 feet.

I walked to the row of trees 300 feet away still looking at my screen map on the controller. I could see the red pointer a/c position. As I walked I saw the blue circle (Home Point) slowly moving. It dawned on me that this was the map position of the controller that I was carrying.

I walked towards the a/c symbol so that the blue circle and the aircraft symbol merged and nearly trod on the a/c in the very tall grass. It had fallen out of the tree and suffered a broken prop with no other damage.