Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Not sure what I'm doing wrong but my videos look digitized

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by jmedrone, Aug 14, 2016.

  1. jmedrone

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    My P3 Adv is set to record videos at 1080 and 60 fps. I then use Microsoft Movie Maker to edit them. They play very well in Movie Maker but I then save them as a MPEG-4/H.264 Video File for uploading to YouTube.

    Once the video is saved as a MPEG-4/H.264 video file, I play it on my Surface 3 and certain parts of the video look digitized. They don't look like that when playing in Movie Maker.

    What am I doing wrong that causes those videos to look severely digitized in some parts?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    258
    Are you taking the original video from your phone/tablet or are you taking the video off of the sd card in your Phantom?
     
  3. ryantrax

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Xenia, Ohio
    I know this is an obvious question but you got the files off the micro SD card not your tablet or phone, correct?

    Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
     
  4. jmedrone

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the replies!

    I'm using the video off my SD card that I removed from my P3. I transfer those files to my Surface 3 then edit those files on my Surface 3 in Movie Maker. The edited video looks great while in Movie Maker but once it's saved as a MPEG-4/H.264 video file it then looks digitized in some parts of the video.
     
  5. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    258
    What's the compression ratio on your h.264 render?
     
  6. fastfed

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    161
    yep its the way its compressed when you finish making the movie and export it.
    make sure you set it for a high bitrate. or like Adobe has built in, youtube 1080/4k options
     
  7. impilot51

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    147
    It may also be your shutter speed. Without a ND filter, you will often have shutter speeds so high that each frame is like a still photo, with no motion blur. This can make the video look unnatural and kind of choppy. Try some ND filters to try to get your shutter speed down to around 1/120 of a second for 60 fps. For smooth, fluid video shoot for the denominator to be roughly 2x the fps. So if shooting 30 fps, you want around 1/60 second shutter speed.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. jmedrone

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    To be honest, I'm not sure. How can I determine the compression ratio?
     
  9. jmedrone

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was using a filter and manually set the shutter speed to 120.
     
  10. jmedrone

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    I saved the video again but this time used the WAV file format. Saving it as a WAV file it didn't digitize. Uploaded to Youtube and it looks great.
     
  11. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    258
    Usually before rendering, there's a "quality" slider or similar. The higher the quality, the less the compression.
     
  12. DocL

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    I use movie maker as well and make a lot of videos. The video in movie maker is usually pretty low quality but when i save the file for "high definition display" it looks great. I cannot do 4k in movie maker but I can do the 2.7k just fine. Sometimes my low-light or night time video is pixelated. I have also found that I have to reboot my computer every time I do a video or there may be a few spots in the video where half of the image is corrupted, flashing, inverted, etc.
     
  13. Amigorick

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    12
    Sorry no intent to crash in on this thread, but can I use my Gopro Video app to edit my 2k video?