Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Not enough power to lift off

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Karl666, Jun 1, 2014.

  1. Karl666

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    Tried to fly my P2 this afternoon and the initial throttle response after CSC and initialisation would not give me enough power to take off. This has been getting progressively worse over the last few weeks. I'd say Its been happening once in every 4 or 5 flights but today its not taking off no matter what I do. There is some increase in motor speed when the throttle is pushed forward but not enough to lift off.

    Things I've tried so far
    ---------------------------
    Calibration of the transmitter in the RC assistant.
    Calibration of transmitter in the P2 assistant.
    Tried different batteries in the P2 and transmitter.
    IMU basic and advanced calibration.
    My P2 has never been crashed or damaged.

    I have not changed anything with regards setup or configuration for months. Everything has been fine but recent weeks has seen this problem develop into a condition that has now grounded my P2.

    Cant think of anything else. Anyone had this before ?
     
  2. quadcopter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try changing props. They may be fatigued and are flexing to much. Or maybe motors worn out...Just an idea..
     
  3. Karl666

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the reply. Not the props its a motor speed issue. Even though the throttle is at max they are not being driven hard enough to take off.
     
  4. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    You sure you are not in mode 1 and the throttle switched to the right stick?
     
  5. Karl666

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Hi - Just checked and its still in Mode 2. All sticks move as expected in RC assistant. You can hear the power increase as you push the throttle but its almost like it hits a rev limiter and wont increase the power enough to allow the craft to lift off.
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Were you testing with a fully charged battery?
     
  7. Big Ben

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check the vertical gain setting and perhaps increase it.

    Alternatively some practical joker is hiding lead weights inside your bird. You should weigh it. :lol:
     
  8. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    I would be looking at you battery health in the Assistant software to see if it shows anything untoward.

    Sent from my Galaxy Note 8
     
  9. Karl666

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the replies guys.

    Seems that my transmitter is at fault. Tried a transmitter from another P2 and it worked ok with no problems. Mine has been getting more and more troublesome over the last few weeks. Oh well at least I know what it is now.

    Maybe this is the excuse I need to buy a Futaba instead of another P2 transmitter ;)

    Cheers
     
  10. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    That does not make sense :?

    When you calibrated the controller in the RC assistant was you getting full swing -1000 <> 0 <> +1000 ?
     
  11. Big Ben

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Buy? What about warranty?
     
  12. Karl666

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    The warranty went out the window when I modified the controller. Its got some additional holes and bits added.

    xgeek - everything looks good but the P2 doesn't want to play. The other one worked 1st time. Intermittent faults - don't you just love 'em. When I was studying for my HND In electronics many years ago my tutor would tell us "Just throw a wet blanket over it and wait until it blows up. You then have something to fix". Not sure I would agree but I've had some TV's in the past where I've been tempted. :)

    Cheers.