Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

NOT a no fly zone..

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Chris Grazioso, Sep 19, 2015.

  1. Chris Grazioso

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Is there a way to inform DJI about an incorrect NFZ??? And are they responsive??? I live near an old Naval Air Station that's been closed since 1997... tons of RC'ers use the old runways for cars, planes, and helos... I went there today and there was a red circle around it and I couldn't take off... I have my private pilots license so I'm very familiar with airspace, etc, and the old airport shows up as a X on the sectional...
     
  2. Othan1

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    62
    That's a great question and I would start with DJI support (if you can't get through on the phone, email them and let them know politely and they will help you through email maybe) and see if there is recourse.

    Please let us know with a follow up if you get more information.
     
  3. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    It's been asked a few times since they introduced the NFZ over a year ago and I have never heard of a successful case where they have even replied. I wish you luck in your quest man.
     
  4. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    If you start up your P3P in manual mode, will it over ride the no fly zones and still let you fly? Or will it just not start anyway? You would think that there would be a way around this for wrongly marked zones through the software. Has anyone tried this?
     
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Hi @Reed L,
    There are already quite a number of us here, that are Albertan's.
    It's always nice to meet new ones, and share the love of this hobby.
    Hope to make your acquaintance some day.

    Enjoy the Phantom, and your time wisely spent on the forum.

    RedHotPoker
     
    Reed L likes this.
  6. Chris Grazioso

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I tried the auto take off and it wouldn't allow it to start up... I decided to expand the map and noticed they didn't mark a local small, but very active, airport as a NFZ, nor a military airport about 25 miles from me... Strange...
     
  7. Pablo1981

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    8
    Having the same issue. I live within a mile of an airport that's been closed since 2011 and was demolised earlier this year. Yet DJI have it as a No Fly Zone. It's very annoying as it stops me flying from my house out to some nice fields and a few small lakes etc. I've emailed SJI but I'm not expecting anything.

    Has anyone has ANY success with getting one of these errors corrected?
     
  8. P3S 101

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    8
  9. Memtenn60

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    10
    Try the Beta TestFlight and B4UFLY. Apps that the FAA is testing. I believe they have a way to change or notify incorrect NFZ
     
  10. Baldo81

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Portugal
    they're really fast and they already revised a NFZ that wasn't correct and took off on the next fw update. You can contact them from this page ("send us an email" on the bottom right of the page) mentioning the details of the NFZ
    No Fly Zones | DJI