Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Not a good start

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by DANIEL KENNEDY, Aug 12, 2016.

  1. DANIEL KENNEDY

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hull Uk
    Hello every one im Danny from Hull in the UK.
    i took delivery delivery of my Brand new phantom 3 standard today. i set up dji go in beginner mode ( flying in a 30m radius and set the return home function with auto take all went fine for 5 mins untill i brought the drone back to about 10 feet away, then pressed the return home icon, upon doing so dji go informed me that the gps signal had been lost and the p3 shot up to aprox 30 meters and then shot off horizontaly for about 150 meters until it hit a tree.
    the impact broke off the camera and cracked one of the arms. could anyone suggest what what could have caused this, and what would be the best course of action to get the p3 fixed. thanks.Danny
     
  2. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    First, was the home point set successfully? What was the RTH altitude and behavior set to? Need more info here.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  3. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    Sounds like a typical RTH. You were within the 30M radius and the quad was doing what it should have done... ascend to the RTH altitude first. I think you NEVER want to initiate RTH when the bird is that close or it will ascend to the RTH altitude.
     
  4. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    Doesn't sound like typical RTH to me. If within 20m it should have landed on the spot. Outside 20m it should attemp to climb to preset RTH altitude and then return. You can stop the ascent by moving the throttle once you are above 20m altitude.

    It seems the home point may have been incorrectly recorded or not set at launch. If GPS lock was lost it may have been carried into the tree by the wind.
     
  5. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    you never hit rth 10 feet from you that is why it crashed not good
     
  6. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    @With The Birds.... that is what I thought, but there seems to be some confusion on this board about that. I have never tried it myself so I can't say for sure. All I have "gathered" is ya don't do it when you are close.
    It very well could have been an error when the home point was set though.
    Really need to see the flight log... that will tell all.
     
  7. DANIEL KENNEDY

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hull Uk
    hi again.
    the return home point was set to the take of point. the quad was no way blown off course and even though i pressed return home at about 10 feet away i dont see why it should rise up into the air and shoot off at full throttle to over 150 meters away.
     
  8. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    It might be the AC was attempting return to where it thought the home point was following your RTH command. For this to be true the AC was actually at, or determined by GPS to be, at a location more than 20m from the recorded home point.

    It might be that GPS was lost after the ascent and the AC just drifted into the tree. Hands of sticks in atti mode this will happen (same behaviour as no GPS lock).

    Pure speculation. Upload your flight logs and see what clues may be there.
     
  9. cdronefly

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    68
    First lesson here - do not use RTH. It's not for casual use, IMHO.

    In about 3 years of flying my Phantoms mine has been used maybe twice - once when the machine actually did blow away.

    Do not test out all the features until you have many hours of experience with the machine and software - and even then, there is often no need to try things just for their own sake.

    As an example, my Passat has a push button emergency brake. I've never tried it when the car was moving. I never will. If there is an emergency and my brakes stop working - well, then, I might try it.

    Always check in your app and on the map to make sure the recorded home point is exactly where you want it to be.

    Oh, and as you found out, do not press enter into RTH unless"
    1. you know exactly what your rth settings are
    2. The machine is a distance from you
    3. You are 100% sure of the Home Point
    4. The Home point is not under tree cover or nearby.
     
  10. fastsmiles

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx
    You can buy a replacement shell and fix it yourself if you feel comfortable with that. There are plenty of youtube videos showing you how. When you reattach your camera, I would suggest using metal retainer pins from UAV Bits. They will hold the camera onto its support and prevent it from flying off in a crash. Check the ribbon cable on your camera for any damage.

    Retention Pins for Camera
     
    dgriffnz likes this.