Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Noob Question - Recording Flight Data

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by stilgar99, Jun 22, 2015.

  1. stilgar99

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm about to get my new P3P and Ive been reading all I can. I have read about the firmware 'concerns' and do not plan to update past 1.1.9.
    I have also read the manual (first run through what will be many I expect). And I have been watching 'training' videos like mad....but I still have a question...
    How do I record the flight data? I ask this because I want to record so that I have this data in case of any weird 'flyaway' issues/etc. I want to have the proof to be able to return the unit if their is a disaster...

    All help appreciated..

    Stilgar
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    It's done automatically by the bird, and the app.
     
  3. Joe88keys

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    It took me a while to find it but it is worth the hunt. From the pilot app select "User Center" and then click the middle icon. It shows the entire flight on a map in real time along with a wealth of data so you can see exactly what was happening at in time in the flight. It even shows the location of the controller as you move around. I'm curious if there is a GPS in the controller also.
     
  4. Steve Moore

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Topeka, Ks
    There is no GPS in the controller. It uses GPS from your tablet, unless you got screwed and bought an iPad that doesnt have cellular capability. If you did then you have no GPS at the controller.
     
  5. Joe88keys

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks! That makes sense. I didn't think about the GPS in the iPad.
     
    Steve Moore likes this.
  6. nevy77

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I have a iPad mini 3 no cellular capability but I have a iPhone 6 can I link them to get gps at the controller ?
     
  7. Steve Moore

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Topeka, Ks
    Nope. If you need GPS at the controller you would have to use the iPhone on the controller.
     
  8. Jan1983

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regarding GPS thats true. But you can either cache the maps when ur at home with ur iPad - if you know where ur going ofc - or use your phone as GPS device.
     
  9. Steve Moore

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Topeka, Ks
    That was beyond confusing @Jan1983. And I already said it
     
  10. Jan1983

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, ur right when saying, you cant link your phone and tablet to use GPS. GPS was not the correct word I was talking about. You can determine your actual position either via GPS or Internet. So as you usually dont have internet access when ur flying (talking about an iPad w/o cellular functions), you can link the ipad with the iphone to get your actual position. So you can see where your bird is/was using google maps. Thats called tethering.
    Pre-condition is a good availability of mobile network.
     
  11. LordEvil

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    San Antonio Texas
    Is there a way to see the data on a computer as opposed to only the app?