Noob needs advice

Reaction score
Hi guys!
This is the deal:
I work as a web developer in Mexico. Have done a few real estate websites. On the side, I am very interested in R/C, but never had the chance to own a helicopter or a quadcopter for that matter.

I thought I would kill two birds with one stone and get myself a Phantom with a GoPro camera to do aerial footage of some of the properties my customers want to sell/rent - and at the same time have some fun while making money. The town where I live has a very extensive offering of real estate, and I think I could make some money off doing aerial footage of the more expensive properties.

Do you think it is a viable setup? I am pretty confident I can get the Phantom up in the air and flying, but I have read a lot about jittery video (jelly?) that can be remedied by using foam and/or some kind of stabilizer that is set up with wires? Read about a $ 700 gimball (Pan/Tilt) about to be released. Is it true? Will it be worth the money?

Watching good Phantom footage, I think it is the way to go... but watching bad Phantom footage, I get scared of going all in and getting a setup like this. What is your take on this? Where can I get the cheapest setup? I have an LA address where I can get the stuff shipped to, and then take it to Mexico from there. Please share any experiences you might have had with this...

Thanks!!!
Otto

Welcome to the forum Otto.

I think you'll find a lot of shared experiences here in the forum and given how new the Phantom is most will be very recent.

I would suggest that you not worry about a gimbal just yet and focus on getting familiar with operating the Phantom and GoPro.