Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

NO SIGNAL at 12,000ft-*UPDATE 3* with windsurf antenna

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by johnny21, May 15, 2016.

Tags:
  1. johnny21

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Serres,Macedonia,Greece
    Hi, I am John from Serres,Greece and this is my first post.
    Yesterday, I decided to push my P3P to the limit.
    The aircraft flew to 10,000ft with solid signal and after 2 "WEAK SIGNAL" warnings and at 12,000ft I got the "NO SIGNAL".
    Aircraft auto-switched to RTH and about three minutes later connection re-established.So, it's good to know that these safety features are working as they should.
    Everything was stock.Dashware in metric.


     
    #1 johnny21, May 15, 2016
    Last edited: May 28, 2016
    Numone and konidair like this.
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    Per the P3P specs, the P3P will only fly 2.1 miles (11,088 feet) in CE mode. You've exceeded the specs, so all seems to be working as expected.
     
  3. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    Not bad furthest I have gone is about 11,000 but I wasnt brave enough to keep flying until I lost signal. It was just starting to drop out with me so maybe I could have gone as far.
    Awesome machines!!!
     
  4. johnny21

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Serres,Macedonia,Greece
    Maybe if I had climbed another 300ft, signal would had been improved...
     
  5. Not A Speck Of Cereal

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    145
    Yes, climb a bit higher. Also, you can get a parabolic signal extender.

    Watch your battery levels — you need juice for the return flight!
     
    alray likes this.
  6. johnny21

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Serres,Macedonia,Greece
    Will try that...
    Return battery was 38%, so I could have gone a little further...
     
  7. haysaqo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hollywood, Los Angeles.


    Hi John, what FW version do you have on your P3P?
     
  8. johnny21

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Serres,Macedonia,Greece
    Latest 1.8.80
     
  9. FantomFlier

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    76
    More evidence to debunk the nonsense theory that DJI are detuning the Phantom with firmware.

    Good stuff.
     
  10. johnny21

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Serres,Macedonia,Greece
    I am also satisfied with the distance given that there where trees between the aircraft and myself.Next week I will try with windsurfer antenna and post the results.
     
    #10 johnny21, May 17, 2016
    Last edited: May 17, 2016
  11. Mimoid

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    83
    You are a brave man, the furthest I have ever dared going was 1650 meters (5000 feet), where I was starting to lose the video feed, chickened out and I returned back home. I would not want to lose the video feed completely as I have sometimes seen that dreaded "Compass Error - Change to ATTI mode" message in midflight, and I am not sure that RTH would work at all without the compass. And without auto RTH and without video feed at that distance, I would be very, VERY scared.

    //Tom
     
  12. johnny21

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Serres,Macedonia,Greece
    Brave or stupid, I don't know, but this is not a SYMA, we payed good money for these features and they should work....
     
    Mimoid likes this.
  13. MILLER4PRESIDENT2020

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    17
    I thought that the Phantom analyzes its own flight and knows how much juice it needs left in the battery to return home safely?
     
  14. johnny21

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Serres,Macedonia,Greece
    Couldn't wait till next week so I grabbed my new windsurfer-antenna and retried at the same spot.
    Result: WOW! Perfect signal until 14,000ft when low battery auto-RTH initiated.Still had 38% battery left when landed.
    Dashware in metric.

     
    #14 johnny21, May 17, 2016
    Last edited: May 17, 2016
    Numone likes this.
  15. FantomFlier

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    76
    Don't rely on that. The phantom can't read wind speed for example. You will get sense of how far you can push, but you need to do your homework as well, before your flights. For example you need to test wind speed in both your out and back directions, at the altitude you intend to fly.

    Do some searches on that.
     
  16. Tdeath

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    The furthest i went was 5.4km or what equates to 17716ft of course at this point fpv was super choppy and stuttering like crazy ( did it once to test max stock distance of the gla rc and ac battery) my house is located in an almost rural area.

    The purpose of this test was to determine if i need the dbs and battery mods.

    The only Mod: i was on the roof of my 2 story house, landing battery was 9% and the total round trip was 11.8km (38713ft)

    Never did it again and concluded i dont need any mods.

    Awesome machine
     
  17. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Well done. How did you create that video, with all the telemetry?
     
  18. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    63
    Me too, and need to add that don't need no more test. I manage 14,400 in a total urban enviroment with a parabolic booster. Awesome machine!
     
  19. johnny21

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Serres,Macedonia,Greece
    Numone likes this.
  20. haysaqo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hollywood, Los Angeles.
    Interesting, I get weak or no signal at sometimes 3000 sometimes 4000'. Can't fly any further because keep getting black screen and RTH. All this time I was thinking had something to do with FW. But you prove I was wrong. I tried to fly 5 different locations and getting same message. I use wind surfer as well. Wonder what else would that be.