No range with Boscam setup

Reaction score
I'm not new to model flying or even multicopters but I am new to FPV.

I decided to pick up a Phantom 2 (version 2) with the H3-3D gimbal. I already had a GoPro 3+ Black edition I have previously strapped to a Rite Wings Zephyr 2 (with Eagletree Vector). I also have a bunch of FPV gear that I haven't as yet used hence the Phantom.

Boscam TS351 200mW 5.8Ghz vTX (http://www.hobbyrc.co.uk/ts351-58ghz-20 ... ransmitter) fitted to the Phantom in the standard location using the standard harness.
http://www.quadcopters.co.uk/90-degree- ... -991-p.asp are the antennas I have fitted. The Boscam set to 5885MHz (as close to 5.8GHz as I can get). 3 leaf on Phantom and 4 leaf on ground.
I have FatShark Dominator goggles with the Team Black Sheep Dominator RX. Boscam Band E Ch 5 which is 5885MHz.

Whilst not a super powerful setup I expected it to work OK. I have noticed that without FPV equipment the GoPro records an awful lot of noise on the audio track. With the FPV gear installed I get half a dozen or so scrolling interference lines on the display (nothing to detract though).

When flying I get picture breakup at about 30 feet and total loss of signal at about 50 feet. I'm flying from a model aircraft flying sight where we have no known issues and other 5.8GHz FPV setups have flown OK. I tried installing a homemade RC filter to the vTX power lines which made no difference.

I'm at a loss as to why this setup is so poor given I know that it can be made to work.

Dave

hi mate. let's talk about some stuff...
first off, gotta be honest those are about the cheapest antennas you can get (12 pound for the PAIR?) so there's no way they're going to give you fantastic performance.
Are you sure you got all the genders and polarities right? The TS351 has a RP-SMA female connector, and those antennas you linked say they are SMA. You may have some mismatched gender/polarity on the transmit and/or receiver side.