Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No p3p sound?

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by MajObvious, Mar 18, 2016.

  1. MajObvious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    400+ Feet
    hi guys - waiting on my batterys and remote to charge and firmware updates (man there's a lot to do before flying) so i'm killing time. i see some posts that p3 doesn't record sound? is that true?
     
  2. GoodnNuff

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    831
    Location:
    Washington State
    No, it doesn't record sound.
    If it did you would only hear the constant drone of the motors and props - any other ambient sound is overwhelmed by that unpleasant noise.
     
  3. MajObvious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    400+ Feet
    oh yeah, guess that makes sense. thanks!
     
  4. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I use a gopro camera on my Phantom....earlier model. I like the fact that it records sound. When doing any testing when flying and hearing the motor sounds helps. I think they all should have sound. If the prop sound bothers you while editing, it can always be removed.
     
  5. GoodnNuff

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    831
    Location:
    Washington State
    Yeah, I had an Uncle who would never let up play the radio - he always had to hear the sound of his engine, just in case...
     
  6. Omniround

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    That is extreme....my ex father-in-law had a Chevy with a Powerglide 2-speed tranny. He insisted it was a 3-speed. He was a farm mechanic but was wrong about his tranny.
     
  7. GoodnNuff

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    831
    Location:
    Washington State
    Funny, my Uncle was an old farmer/rancher as well. He put far more miles on a tractor in his life than he did any car or truck.
    Getting off topic, but each time I fly one of my Go-Pro haulin' drones and hear the motors on the video, it just reminds me of Uncle Boyd.
     
  8. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    [Qdon't E="GoodnNuff, post: 722881, member: 2337"]Yeah, I had an Uncle who would never let up play the radio - he always had to hear the sound of his engine, just in case...[/QUOTE]
    I dont know why they have no sound. It couldn't be a cost issue. Sure while flying, it may not be of much use, but to have it record sounds of people etc prior to and after flight could be a plus. I have videos of us chatting prior to a flight and as we approach it landing and talking . It adds to the video. Why have to carry a separate recorder and edit the sound tracks in just for that. Not everyone wants to add music etc to their flight video.
     
  9. GoodnNuff

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    831
    Location:
    Washington State
    There are plenty of drones that use a Go-Pro if sound is important to you. I have both a GoPro 3 and 4 and fly them on my Phantom 1, Solo, Iris+ and 350QX - I always turn the sound recording off. My phone records quite well if I ever want to record the chatter as I approach the drone.

    But back to the OP, Nope, no sound recording on the Phantoms unless they use a GoPro as their camera source.
     
  10. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    I need to learn how to add soundtracts to my videos.
     
  11. Omniround

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    not having done it yet, but I thought the editor you got with the phantom has sample sound tracks to add when making a video?
     
  12. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    What editor with Phantom? I know nothing about that
     
  13. Omniround

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    It talks about it on the DJI site:

    Easy Video Editor
    Create professional-looking movies in minutes using the DJI Director video editor. With a wide variety of pre-designed templates, it’s easy to pick one that suits you best and make a new video to share.


    Phantom 3 Professional – DJI GO | DJI

    Think I read elsewhere it has some generic music to add for a sound track.