Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No motor start up

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by chuckn0rr1s, Dec 29, 2015.

  1. chuckn0rr1s

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys! So I just bought a used DJI 1 from a friend of mine. He hadn't used it in awhile so I decided to give it a good once over. These are the current features and/or upgrades. (This was all done before I bought it) A guy that advertises himself on youtube as UAV Advertising did all the upgrades. He had the naza setup traditionally I switched it over to Sbus, updated naza controller to current version, repositioned receiver antenna to 90 degrees. Reset the receiver numerous times (it lights up solid green) I have watched numerous youtube videos on transmitter setup from HPI guy and others, etc.

    Transmitter: Futaba T8J
    Receiver: R2008SB
    FPV system

    I have done every possible update, calibration, reset etc on this quad rotor and after rechecking everything at least twice I still can not seem to get the motor to start up by pointing the joystick in either bottom corner. The GPS is calibrated, I've waited for the ready green light and it does nothing at all. My batteries are fully charged. I have run out of options or ideas could someone please help me out? Maybe there is something I am missing?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    First I do not own a P1...
    First pass is to verify correct and complete channel deflection so the appropriate output will be sent to the MC.

    Have you contacted "UAV Advertising" with regards to this?

    Since you are using an after-market Tx/Rx there's the possibility of 'trim' and other adjustments limiting or altering the channel output.

    Have you read the Manual for the Futaba system?
    (http://manuals.hobbico.com/fut/8j-manual.pdf)

    Have you looked to see that no trim has been added?

    Have you calibrated the sticks on the Tx (page 91 of Manual) AND THEN the quad with the calibrated Tx?

    Once you remove the OEM control system there are many opportunities for incorrect or incompatable 'signals' to be introduced.
     
  3. chuckn0rr1s

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    First thanks for the reply :)

    I have contacted UAV Advertsing, he said he couldn't help me...

    Trim is at 0 across the board

    I have calibrated both the sticks and the the quad

    I have followed the gps calibration procedure, and when finished I get the single blinking green LED indicating that its ready for flight and I still can not get the motors to start up by pointing the sticks down to any corner whether it be both bottom left, bottom right, and also left stick bottom right and right stick bottom left. I appreciate the feed back!!
     
  4. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    Have you hooked it up to the Assistant? There you should be able to see the effect of stick input.
     
  5. chuckn0rr1s

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes sir I did hook it up to the assistant, calibrated sticks, updated controller software to 4.04
     
  6. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    So you can see all the sticks going from +1000, through zero, then to -1000
     
  7. chuckn0rr1s

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I can
     
  8. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    That is not good news! It means that the Naza can see the command to start the motors- you can see that on the screen- both sticks down and in.
    On the face of it- this discounts the transmitter being the cause.
     
  9. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    What happens on the assistant motor test page?
     
  10. chuckn0rr1s

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here you go
     

    Attached Files:

  11. chuckn0rr1s

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    All motors spin in correct direction
     
  12. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    OK- we are running out of options! Your calibrations screen shots show a slight error, you are not getting 100% deflection.
    You need to calibrate the transmitter manually i.e. not through any software. I'll try and find the instructions
     
  13. chuckn0rr1s

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've already done that. A few times already
     
  14. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    This way? Tx calibration.jpg
     
  15. chuckn0rr1s

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    These instructions are for a stock transmitter. I have a Futaba T8J
     
  16. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    Pretty stupid of me!!!!
    My friend, I have run out of ideas. Something in the transmitter set up is limiting travel. Maybe set up a new model from scratch?
     
  17. chuckn0rr1s

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try that but I think I did that to begin with because i switched it from traditional to S-bus. But hey I'll do it again and see what happens. Thanks for your help sir!
     
  18. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    If all else fails you could try and source a DJI DT7 TX/RX combo. Good luck.
     
  19. chuckn0rr1s

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    So reseting the transmitter didn't work. My last guess would be that since I updated the naza controller my transmitter may need a spring loaded throttle which it does not have. Is there anyone that could confirm that?
     
  20. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    Spring loaded throttle would not have any bearing on this problem.
    My feeling is that there is an issue with dual rates/travel adjust'. Plug it back into the assistant, flick all the switches, and see if you can get 100% travel.

    But, rowing backwards, I notice you changed the Rx type in Naza from traditional to S bus (D bus, same thing). But the wiring from the RX to Naza is different in each case.
    Traditional has T/A/Y/R- 4 servo wires. S/D bus has just 1 from the D bus output.