Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No more using DJI batteries for me

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Ghostrunner007, Sep 27, 2014.

  1. Ghostrunner007

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    After having numerous low battery alarms going off on a pack that is fully charged I decided to rip it apart and see if I could connect a regular lipo to it and still get the phantom to think it's a DJI battery.I am happy to report that i was successful. I now run 2 4400 mah batteries on my phantom plus with no problems :D
     
  2. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
  3. Ghostrunner007

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a couple of pics
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Ghostrunner007

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    The batteries are tywrapped to the skids as high as possible , until I find a better way to fasten then to the phantom
     
  5. Luap

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    70
    Do you have pictures / diagram of the inside?
    How do you unslolder the old Lipos without creating a short?
    Do you discharge them first to 0%?
     
  6. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Does your new batteries plug into the red T ?

    Can you explain the purpose of the white plug wire?
     
  7. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Probably the most disappointing thread ever.
     
  8. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I'm trying to drag out the party favors.....
     
  9. Ghostrunner007

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes the 2 new batteries plug into the "T" , they run in parallel , the purpose of the white plug is that this connects to the battery's balance plug that way the board sees each cells voltage
     
  10. Ghostrunner007

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't take any pics of the inside :evil: but I'll post a diagram on how to do this in the morning, to remove the old lipos I discharged them and then simply pulled them off the board one at a time , they come off very easy
     
  11. Ghostrunner007

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why??
     
  12. Luap

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    70
    That would be great if you'd post diagrams. :p
    Any particular way you discharged the LiPos before taking them off?
    Its my biggest concern in this mod - shorting them - so you just pulled them off? No unsoldering?

    This might give you ideas -
    [​IMG]
    http://motorcitydroneco.com/products/in ... ion-vision

    Great thread!!!! :mrgreen:
     
  13. brorex

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    How much flight time are you getting with 8800 mah? I've been thinking of doing this same thing.
     
  14. Pacific Barbarian

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    This sure is interesting and watching this thread for more info.
     
  15. locoworks

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    10

    it won't be as good as you hope cos of the extra weight and it will make the bird respond differently too. the motors will be working a lot harder too.
     
  16. Luap

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    70
    Those are 2 packs each of 3s1P 2800mah pack.
    So together its a 3s2p = 11.1v 5600 or about the same as one of DJIs.
    Its approx. the same weight and approx. the same flight time.

    They are placed at the landing skids because they are a very (too) tight fit in the phantoms battery compartment.

    The interesting thing here is its way cheaper once you have that contraption built.
    Fo example 2 of these packs cost in total USD 40:
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... duct=11915

    So a no brainer for me.
    And naturally you can experiment with higher capacity batteries - higher c ratings etc to increase flight time.

    I'm just waiting for one of my packs to die and have the diagrams to do this mod :lol:
     
  17. ilovecoffee

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    17
    I'd be interested in this mod for using lighter/more capacity (more expensive) batteries (if they exist)
     
  18. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    How does the battery "look" when hooked up to the "Assistant" software:

    >Won't it stop working when (if?) it detects 300 cycles?

    >What about voltage and percentage data?

    >Low battery trip, etc?

    Thanks !
     
  19. ToThePoint

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    I had the same idea ones i got a faulty pack.
    I like also more info pls !!!
    A step by step on how to do.
    If it is a concern to short the original LIPO why don't you use a plier and cut the wires coming from the lipo pack and then desolder the remaining leads to the board ?
    If you cut the wires uneven they will never have the chance to touch each other.
     
  20. brorex

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    He stated in the OP running 2 4400 mah batteries. And for those thinking weights an issue the DJI batteries are way heavier than regular lipo's you can get really good light weight batteries.