Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional No Map update inside?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Harleymhs, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Harleymhs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Great Neck NY
    I just turned my P3P on in my house to make some settings in the pilot app. I noticed that my map is shwoing me where I flew yesterday! Im using my iphone so I do have cell service in the house but NO GPS on the Phantom cause Im inside.. How do I reset to my current pos or do I need to get GPS on the Phantom to get the map updated? thanks!
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    You need a GPS signal in order to show your global position on a map...
     
  3. Harleymhs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Great Neck NY
    thank you! That's what I figured..
     
  4. Erroll

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    South Africa
    I want to do the opposite! Can I cache maps from a location different to where I am now? I have excess data available which expires soon so I thought I could cache maps of places where I might fly.
    Can I?
     
  5. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Yes, you can cache map data in the app by opening the map and dragging it around to the places you plan to fly. Remember the cache contains exactly what you see when dragging the map around, so if you require street level maps, be sure to zoom in to street level when you're caching.
     
  6. Erroll

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    South Africa
    Thanks for the quick reply! Do I need to be connected to the quad while I am doing this?
     
  7. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    No. Just need an internet connection and the device you plan to use when flying.