Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Skyler King III

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fairfield County CT
    Please forgive my ignorance in advance. I am an actual airplane pilot (not by profession) and a disabled war vet. My hobbies included photography. The VA has suggested my exploring drone piloting/photography as a "new" occupation for me as therapy for my PTSD. And I will admit, when I'm flying and working on planning and photos, I do notice a therapeutic benefit. Anyway...Again, with VA assistant (VA loan) I'm purchasing a new home, sort of out in the boonies as far as cell coverage is concerned (1 bar at best). At home (my PRESENT place has 4 bars and WiFi) I planned a mission for photographing the new property. On Litchi, I saved it. When I got to the property, I could not see ANY map, let alone missions. Same with Go, no map. And with Go and Litchi, both, I could not (in camera view mode) get any of the advanced features like orbit, POINT of interest etc to "activate"/work.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,925
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    Location:
    US
    If your mobile device is not connected to the Internet when you're out flying, you'll need to cache the maps in DJI GO before you head out to fly.

    Were you able to access the IOC menu?

    DJI-GO-IOC-Menu-P4.png
     
  3. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Luckily after your first crash, your PTSD will contain the P4 footage as well as the camera :) hehe. I'm just joking... Sounds like the problem is in your tablet. You need to connect it to wifi or hot spot it to your phone to download the map area that you are flying in to actually load the map. If your tablet has data, then Data and GPS both just need to be turned on provided that there is a data signal to load from. I laugh at PTSD these days but it did take 20+ years for mine to disappear :)
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,124
    Likes Received:
    1,653
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    First thing first. Try to setup everything at home first without props mounted. It gets difficult at site as its not that comfortable to work at site.

    Enable wifi on your tablet and check if you get maps.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  5. Skyler King III

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fairfield County CT
    Since there is no (only 1) bar(s) on my phone I can't use that as a hot spot so how do I cache a map
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,925
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    Location:
    US
    What kind of device are you using to fly your Phantom?
     
    Skyler King III likes this.
  7. Skyler King III

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fairfield County CT
    Yes I get the maps at home where I have WiFi but I don't know how to "cache" them so when I'm out in the East of Eden, so to speak, I can run my missions.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Skyler King III

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fairfield County CT
    I prefer my (not cell) iPad Mini 2. I also have an iPhone 6 plus and a Samsung (not cell) Tablet.
     
  9. Skyler King III

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fairfield County CT

    Please tell me more about your "extra equipment" that you mention. So far the only "extra" I have is the "copper" range extenders that slide over the antennae. I am happy with those. And of course I have an extra battery.
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,925
    Likes Received:
    5,574
    Location:
    US
    When using your iPad Mini 2, you must enable the following setting in DJI GO:

    DJI-GO-Cache-Map-In-The-Background.PNG

    There is no such setting in DJI GO on Android devices. They cache automatically. Then, open DJI GO, scroll to the area of the map where you'll be flying, zoom into the level you'll be at when flying, and scroll around on the map in all areas where you plan to fly so the map images are downloaded. Here's an example:

     
  11. Skyler King III

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fairfield County CT
    Yes I can access the various advanced flight moves but there's no map showing to "apply" them on.
     
  12. Skyler King III

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fairfield County CT
    So, get the Phantom 4 turn on and as well as controller (where I have WiFi) and then scroll around and cache map that way? Then when I go out to the no WiFi area, Map will show because it's cached?
     
  13. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Yes, scroll to where you will be flying and let it load. The extra's that I have are here -
    Amazon.com: Jrelecs Remote Controller Tablet Monitor Mount Bracket Holder Adapter For DJI Inspire 1 Phantom 3-Gold: Toys & Games

    Amazon.com: Nikon 7072 Lens Pen Cleaning System: NIKON: Camera & Photo

    Amazon.com : SKYREAT DJI Phantom 3 Gimbal Saver -Protector Phantom 3 Ribbon Cable & Motors : Camera & Photo

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B011T28GYY/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Amazon.com: Carbon Fiber Camera Guard for Phantom 3: Electronics

    Amazon.com: Strong Arm Reinforcement: Toys & Games

    These are the extras that I use all of the time and have installed along with a couple extra things that I threw in here for you :)

    Another thing that I have found helpful is when going into a known area with no signal, if you have data or can hot spot, turn on the tablet, data and GPS at least 10 minutes before going into the dead zone and it will cache the map along with being able to maintain the position thru the GPS on your tablet long after the area has gone dead for signal.
     
  14. Skyler King III

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fairfield County CT
    SO when I scroll to where I'll be flying, does it load into PHANTOM or on my iPad/iPhone? i.e.it is stored where?
     
  15. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    on the tablet