Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional No luck updating

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by kingfish, Dec 6, 2015.

  1. kingfish

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry guys I'm very frustrated. I have been working on updating to latest firmware for several days and I got nothing. I have no gps and no video signal. At one point it told me I had charged the battery 17,000 times and had a bad cell. I don't see how they could make this any harder. But I'm not seeing anyone else having these problems. What can I do?
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Don't apologize, but can you post a description of what you have tried to date, the versions of software, and FW versions your currently have and a copy of the txt file on the SD card.:):) It can be frustrating if every step is not followed as directed and if you have skipped FW upgrades in the past.
     
  3. kingfish

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I was pretty sure I had done the 1.3 so I started with 1.4 then 1.5. I have done so much since trying to reload different versions I cant remember all Ive done.
    The text file wont let me copy and past. How can I post it?
     
  4. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    upload it to the post-- there is an upload button on your screen.
     
  5. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Start here and follow the instructions carefully
    P3 Firmware - HOW TO: Install Phantom 3 firmware | DJI Phantom Forum
     
  6. kingfish

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I have that printed out and did it. The Go app says it is the latest. So then I went back to 1.3 and tried to load it. The text says it has already been installed. The same with 1.4 and 1.5.
     
  7. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Do you have the latest version of the DJI Go App installed? Look in my signature line.
    Does the Go app come up with all the functions. If so, check the About screen and see what Version numbers it is reading.
     
  8. kingfish

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I am blind I have gone over the entire screen several times and cant find any upload button. The text just says abort, the firmware is older or identical to the current firmware on the aircraft.
     
  9. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    upload a file.jpg

    On the forum reply screen
     
  10. kingfish

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My blindness continues. I have gone over every screen I can find and don't see About. I have reloaded the dji go and I believe it to be the latest. The phantom beeps 4 times repeatedly when I turn it on. What does that mean?
     
  11. NorCalRC

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    hey kingfish, I had the same sort of problem as you do. Same screen promts and everything. Anyway I downloaded the new firmware through my tablet (attached to rc) once it downloaded , it transferred the new firmware to the controller. After that I plugged the controller to the phantom and it did the whole beeping and lights flashing thing. Now all good and not frustrated, just flying. I hope that helps. (New firmware is 2.5.
     
  12. FlywithHer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Keswick, Ontario, Canada
    What method of updating are you using? We tried repeatedly downloading the file to our PC, extracting the files, transferring to micro sd and putting it in the gamble slot. Would beep and blink for a couple seconds, then stop. Wouldn't update. Tried different cards, still nothing. Then I tried the same process using an ancient mac someone gave us, worked first try. Flying now. So, not sure what it was, but it didn't like something to do with windows.