Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No live feed on phone

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by koczandubay, Jan 29, 2015.

  1. koczandubay

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having a problem with my phantom 2 Vision Plus, I am NOT getting a live video feed from my phantom back to my phone, which is a LG G2, I have used it about a dozen times previously without any problems, now all I see is a black screen, however, everything else is working like it is supposed to, it still takes pictures and video, I just can't see first hand where I'm flying, I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the DJI app and that didn't help, I tried it on my wife's phone, and I got the same results. She does have a work phone that is an iPhone 5 and I was going to try downloading the DJI app on it and seeing what I get. any help or information would be greatly appreciated, thanksany help or information would be greatly appreciated, thanks
     
  2. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    There is a new version of the app which has caused issues for P2V+ owners, try updating the camera firmware which is supposed to help, the firmware is on the download page of the DJI P2V+

    Read this thread

    viewtopic.php?f=27&t=33407
     
  3. fastsmiles

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx
    You can also try clearing the cashe in your phone. Shut your phone completely off and restart it.
     
  4. Fly Bry

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    and of course if you still are getting telemetry, your wi-fi unit may have bit the dust.
     
  5. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    ??!? the wifi unit connects the camera to the app, if its faulty he wouldn't get telemetry data. It could however be a faulty ribbon cable on the gimbal, it may have come loose after the last flight, I just reread his post and he says he tried it on another phone, however he may have simply downloaded the newer app in doing so and the app may be the culprit
     
  6. RichWest

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    See if you can bring down your Preview resolution and/or FPS video rate to give some type of preview on your phone. If that works then you may have a cable issue or it very well maybe a wifi module fried issue. Plenty of threads discussing either issue and their method for a resolve.

    If you haven't crashed the bird and the issue remains, even in a reduce state, I would highly recommend sending it off to DJI under warranty. Otherwise you'll spend many hours and money resolving the issue on your own.

    Crash1sttime, Many have a video loss issue yet still receive telemetry data on the app. Reducing the video preview has given back some FPV ability with very little effort.
     
  7. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    Hmm I remember seeing quite a few reports of black screens from v3 owners on other forums. Will load up laptop when I get home later and try find some threads for you...

    I get black screen on the odd occasion but closing the app and reopening usually fixs that..