Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard No home point?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Snowman970, Feb 16, 2017.

  1. Snowman970

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey folks, so I got my Phantom 3 standerd today and went for the first flight, I LOVE IT! but am having an issue with the home point. When I start the Ph 3 it says "setting home poi...." and won't complete the sentence......I thought no big deal until I pressed return to home when it was way out there and it went in to the landing sequence without returning to home, literally just started descending where it was at that point in the flight! I cancelled and brought it back and landed it manually without any mishaps but would love to use the feature "return to home". Any ideas on what the issue is? Thanks y'all.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,241
    Likes Received:
    7,365
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Did you check your flight log to see if it indicates what happened? If not, you can upload and view your TXT flight log online here. If you'd like other people to comment on it, please post a link back here after you upload it.
     
  3. Snowman970

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried to upload the flight and it won't allow me, I'm sorry I am still very much a novice at this lol.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,241
    Likes Received:
    7,365
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    You can attach your TXT flight log here too.
     
  5. DanMan32

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    217
    How was the satellite signals?

    I need to see if the app is even needed to have the home point set on launch.

    Sent from my HTC 10 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. ChiefStealth

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Graham, Wa. USA
    There are settings in DJI Go that determine what happens during RTH. It can be set to hover. It can be set to land where it is. It can be set to move to the home point. Check your settings.
     
  7. Snowman970

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You sir are correct lol thank you for your feedback and help. Problem fixed.
     
  8. DanMan32

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    217
    That's misleading. RTH is just that, return to home. You can't change RTH, but you can change features to use RTH or not.
    Fail-safe, what it should do if signal is lost, is configurable to either hover, land, or RTH.
    You can also enable/disable smart RTH where RTH is triggered with a 10 second notification delay when it is calculated the AC is nearing a point of no return based on distance and remaining battery power.


    Sent from my HTC 10 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    321
    Location:
    Girard. ohio
    it is critical that you verify that the home point is set and set before takeoff
    especially if you intend or expect to need RTH.

    the more open an area with good horizon view will get best GPS count

    also make sure you set RTH to a altitude that is safe to return at.

    good luck and have fun flying
     
  10. VtKite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    South Burlington, Vermont, USA
    My first flights RTH just landed where it was too. I afterwards learned that you have to be at least 20 m from Home Point for the bird to return and land.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - home point Forum Date
not hearing homepoint has been updated voice or low battery warning Pro/Adv Discussion Thursday at 8:40 PM
Professional RTH off by 10 to 15 feet from home point Phantom 3 Help May 20, 2017
Flight log split in 2 - 1 flight, 2 home points Pro/Adv Discussion May 10, 2017
P4 home point. Phantom 4 Discussion Apr 27, 2017
What if i take off before home point recorded? General Discussion Apr 21, 2017