Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No GPS

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by adamgoodsell46, Feb 25, 2014.

  1. adamgoodsell46

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is what has happened to my phantom over the course of 3 months. I droped the controler in Chicago, broke off the flight mode gnob (gps, atti, atti gps). It must have broke off stuck in gps mode though because gps mode still worked.
    Took it to Arizona. Blew an ECM board and had to replace it. I think I plugged the gps back in but its not working. Then I took apart the controler to try to get the gnob fixed. I fixed the gnob.
    Every time I turn on the copter on it just blinks yellow. Even when I flicker the gps gnob all the way down I still get blinking yellow. I tried flicking it up and down 10 times but gps calibration mode never enters. Any ideas?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
     
  2. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Have you connected an IOSD and vTX so you can see if it's aquiring any satellites at all?

    If you broke the GPS, ATTI switch are you sure it's not stuck in Failsafe RTH mode (which would be the bottom position on that switch). This would cause the yellows only to flash.

    When you said you blew the ECM board.... what happened? Is there a chance that the GPS module is also screwed?

    Just some ideas.....
     
  3. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,919
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    I'd venture to guess the gnob is gnot working properly. Check the gnob fungtion in the phangtom assistant software. :D
     
  4. adamgoodsell46

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    The ecm board just went bad, the motor wouldn't spin correctly. Replaced that. I did unplug the compas (which was very hard to unplug) and then plugged that back in. Im going to take it apart. Any ideas where to start my trouble shooting. I guess if I can't get it into calibration mode that means something is screwy in my controler still no? I thought the gps mode gnob was fixed. Its clicking again. But maybe not.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
     
  5. adamgoodsell46

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe does anyone know where to buy some controller parts (if its the controler thats broken.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
     
  6. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Ian's idea was a good one. Plug in to your computer, run the assistant software and see if the switches and knobs are working. That's the best place to start and you'll soon know if one of them is stuck.
     
  7. adamgoodsell46

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Plug in the controler or the coptor? Im assuming the controler.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk