Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No gps

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Tudor, Aug 4, 2015.

  1. Tudor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello guys!
    Have a Phantom 1
    Have no contact with satellites at startup - flashes just atti mode(slow yellow).
    In Naza program it says : Need GPS.
    Impossible to entry compass calibration mode.
    Have 5 volts to the GPS card.
    Have 3 volts in GPS battery.
    Gps antenna looks great.
    Could it be the compass that is Broken?
    /Harald fr.o.m. sweden
     
  2. filmeur

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello, i have a month ago the same problem. I verify the connectors to compass, gps will not work with compass unless receive. I have make a to demagnetize the compass with a little magnet no so near to the compass. Be carefull with magnet. I hope it's can help you
     
    Midwestquads likes this.
  3. Tudor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks!
    I have tried that-no response in naza program-no compass value.
    And IT says gps firmware and software: 0.0.0.0.??????
     
  4. filmeur

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    It seems to be a gps corrupt if naza program dosen't see ths gps module and see the others components, i think try an other gps to confirm. sorry no more idea, good search
     
  5. filmeur

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have read that when a component is changed, a ten minutes minimum must be wait to have a clean try on the errors phantom. Make a dysconnect and reconnect immediately is not optimised.
     
    Tudor likes this.
  6. Hawkeye 1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairdale, Kentucky
    I had exactly the same problem after changing an ESC......it turns out that I had forgot to plug the compass cable back to the GPS. Check both ends of the compass cable to make sure they are plugged in securely.
     
    Tudor likes this.
  7. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    www.wynotweb.com
    Click the button which says FIX THE COMPASS to watch a video on using a magnet on the compass.

    Tudor, you are confusing me. How do you know there are 5 volts here and 3 volts there? Are those the proper voltages for the respective items?

    GPS is this.

    Compass is that.

    The bird will fly without either or both. It just won't fly itself very well if you take either away.

    You have liked previous posts. Did you fix the problem? It does sound like there are some items unplugged. :eek:

    Connection between the Phantom and the Computer can be difficult sometimes. You must ensure a good connection before proceeding.
     
  8. Tudor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    IflyinWy
    No gps yet.
    Ordered à new compass to test.(cheap)
    The gps is feeded with 5 volt from naza,
    Gps has a little backup battery with 3v.
    Checked all cables.
    Get no value from compass but probably gps module broken.
    -yes it flies but i def. Want gps lock
     
  9. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    GPS part might just be the antenna, it's like 10 bucks. Hope you're not worried about the Hundred or more for the full GPS unit. Yep, a new compass just might fix the problem. Keep it away from magnets and other crap which may contaminate it. It may just arrive contaminated, perhaps it sat in the UPS truck next to a box of Rare Earth Magnets... :eek:

    Keep us posted, and while you're waiting for the compass, you may want to do a close visual on the GPS. :)
     
    Tudor likes this.
  10. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Please share the solution with us, if in fact you are flying again.

    Thanks very much. :)
     
  11. Tudor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes i will be back here
    Just waiting for the antenna
    Ordered from helipal
    Delivers from hong kong!?
     
  12. Tudor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. Brady

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    did you check and see if the gps antenna had a crack in it? Thats what was wrong with mine when this same thing happened to me. You can replace/upgrade the antenna for less than $10
     
  14. Tudor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes i have checked that
    The naza dont even find the firmware and software of the GPS-module so i think its broken.
    Ordered one m8n gps to test.
     
  15. Tudor

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Now its working!
    With the m8n gps mounted on top( outside the shell)
    Pretty hard to calibrate compass:
    Horisontal works fine
    Then wertikal i have to spin it like an airplane-prop.?
     
  16. djsquare214

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just broke my GPS and am going the same route as you. The m8n seems like a good buy.
     
  17. Brady

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    The 4mm antenna from digikey.com is only like 5 bucks. I recommend that. I replaced it in like 20 mins
     
  18. djsquare214

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    I know, I bought the 4mm upgrade from ant-king but it still won't recognize it. Something on the gps module must be broken or I melted the gps board and can't get the ceramic gps contacts to meet with the gps board contacts.
     
  19. Brady

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Oh okay. Didnt know all that. Sorry to hear it
     
  20. djsquare214

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    So I gave up on the stock GPS and bought a $40 M8N Glonass GPS module from ebay which replaces the stock GPS and compass and works so much better. No more waiting minutes for sats to connect, now I get 10+ satellites within 20 seconds of boot! Very happy how this turned out.
     
    Tudor likes this.