Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No Cell Service?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by wlkngmachine, Sep 10, 2016.

  1. wlkngmachine

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry if this question is redundant. If I'm out in the middle of nowhere with no cell service, will my phone still record a new gps home point? Will return to home still work? And finally, do I need to cache my maps beforehand? If so, how does one do that on an iphone? Thanks!
     
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,195
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    yes on gps record home point and cache maps for that area before you go there
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    8,244
    Likes Received:
    3,776
    Even if you don't cache maps, it won't affect your flying.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    20,882
    Likes Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    US
    The Phantom records the home point using data from the GPS receiver inside of the Phantom. As long as it is able to use that GPS data, it'll be able to return back to the home point.
     
  5. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,760
    Likes Received:
    1,610
    Location:
    California
    If you mean will a home point be set, then yes. The Phantom's own GPS will be used to set a home point. Cell service does not provide GPS data.

    Yes, under normal circumstances RTH will still work.

    Maps are not required to fly. If you choose to use maps, cache them in advance by opening the GO app while you still have internet access. Make sure that the "cache maps in background" option is enabled in the General menu, go to a map view (still within GO), and scroll around the area in which you intend to fly.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  6. wlkngmachine

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    sweet thanks for the replies!
     
  7. spamspam87

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I am new to this. Sorry if you find yourself repeating answers. I am of to NZ in April and want to have the ability to drive along a road and if I see something worth filming get out and use my drone. In some places I won't have been able to cache maps before hand. Will this still be ok to fly? I think I understand that the home point and RTH will still work as that's based on GPS but how do you know where that home point is set or do you just trust that it's exactly where the drone took off from? Thank you and happy Christmas


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    8,244
    Likes Received:
    3,776
    The Phantom has its own GPS receiver which it uses for all flight functions.
    Looking at the telemetry display you'll see confirmation of the recorded home point which is where the Phantom is launched.
    Not having background maps makes no difference to your flying.
    I've only used them a couple of times in the last few years.
     
    ROD PAINTER likes this.