Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

night time & internet

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by kirby, Dec 5, 2015.

  1. kirby

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi l have just joined,just got it working today. P3S is unreal, getting the hang of it great videos
    Does the video work at night time? l live in a country town with poor internet service once out of town, can l work it without internet and get the camera working thanks.
     
  2. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    142
    You don't need the Internet to fly the drone or for video transmission. Is it because it's too dark at night and therefore you don't see anything on your phone/tablet?
     
  3. kirby

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    No l have not used it at night time just wondering if the video works at night.
     
  4. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    142
    Yes it does but be careful flying it at night.
     
    kirby likes this.
  5. kirby

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks, if you can get it right, the photos or the video would look pretty good
     
  6. Jay H

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    for night time videos, you should do manual exposure settings and change the ISO/shutter speed. for night photos, ive been doing long exposure shots with a 2" (second) shutter speed and lowered ISO and they look amazing.

    i was using automatic when i first got it and was getting a lot of noise in my videos.
     
    #6 Jay H, Dec 5, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2015
    kirby likes this.
  7. Kneepuck

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    21
    If by does it work at night, you mean is it night vision, the answer is no.
     
    kirby likes this.
  8. kirby

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    So how do you get it to work with out wifi. When l turn it on l cant get to take off but when l go to the app and then it says connect to wifi [phantom, l type in 12341234] and then it works and you can go to the camera how do l use it with out the app. The places l would like to use it will be out if wifi and internet range
     
  9. MightyY

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    The wifi that it needs is built in. That's the phantom wifi that you're connecting to when you enter the 12341234 password. It does not need to connect to the Internet.
     
    kirby likes this.
  10. Kneepuck

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    21
    What Mighty said is correct. You do not need the internet or cellular service to fly the phantom. You could even fly without your phone or tablet. However, being able to see the status of the aircrafts various systems is very helpful and much safer and easier.
     
    kirby likes this.