Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Nexus 7 II not working

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by MariposaLand, May 21, 2015.

  1. MariposaLand

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have been flying my P3 just fine with my iPhone 5s. The only problem was the screen was so small. Sooooo, I bought a used Nexus 7 II off of Ebay for $99 (what a deal). I took it out today and tried to fly with the N7 and it would not connect. I don't know anything about android and a very little about my new P3. The Android is running 4.4.2 OS. I down loaded the Pilot App from DJI today and it installed fine. It show that is it is version 1.1.0. However, the Google store shows that the latest version is 1.1.10. Not sure if I have the wrong version. I installed the latest firmware on my P3 and controller last week in order to get the 5s to work. I also purchased a new cable today from Best Buy. Does anyone have any ideas on where to start? Thanks!!!
     
  2. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    You have the correct version you have a typo in the version you wrote for the play store version.

    When you plugged in the USB from RC to tablet and started app did it tell you to turn on USB debugging?
     
  3. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Interested to see how this goes. Want to use my Nexus as a backup to ipad.
     
  4. MariposaLand

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yes it did...and I did.
     
  5. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    Not being a smartass but you are positive it is a Nexus 7(2013), it will have the camera on the back, (2012 models do not).

    I did have to use another cable as my first one didn't work, though you said you bought a new one, did you try the one that came with your P3? That is the one that I am now using

    I am using my N7 (2013) with no issues though I am on the latest software 5.1.1
     
  6. eseckinger

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    55
    You need to upgrade your android version and make sure you use the app downloaded from the DJI website. I fly daily with a Nexus 7 (2013) both my inspire and P3
     
  7. FireFly88

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    I also fly the P3A with the Nexus 7 (2013). It works flawlessly, haven't had any issues. Given the price point of the Nexus 7 (2013) and it's capabilities/features I have been very pleased.
     
    MariposaLand and JBG like this.
  8. MariposaLand

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thank you for responding. Yes it has a camera on the back. It did not come with a cable. I suppose I could try to upgrade to the latest version and reinstall the Pilot app? I will try another cable tomorrow just to remove that as an issue.
     
  9. MariposaLand

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    22
    Should I uninstall the DJI Pilot app, you think?
     
  10. eseckinger

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    55
    Yes, upgrade the android version, wipe the tablet and start from scratch.
     
  11. MariposaLand

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    22
    I am doing a system update now. It says that it will updated it to 4.4.3. How do I get to 5.1.1? Thanks!
     
  12. eseckinger

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    55
    THey go one after another, eventually It will get to the latest.
     
    FireFly88 and MariposaLand like this.
  13. MariposaLand

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ohhhh! When I finally get to 5.1.1 how do I "wipe out" my tablet? Sorry but today is the first day I have every touched an Android device. It is pretty intuitive however. Thank you for your help!
     
  14. louforgiveno

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    251
    Go to settings/ back & reset and do a factory reset....this will set the phone back to a "clean" state
     
    MariposaLand likes this.
  15. MariposaLand

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thank you...will this leave the OS alone?
     
  16. eseckinger

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    55
    Yes
     
    MariposaLand likes this.
  17. louforgiveno

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    251
    yes it will....it will boot as if for the first time....but with new os.
     
    MariposaLand likes this.
  18. louforgiveno

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    251
    Backup any files you wish to save first......
     
    MariposaLand likes this.
  19. JBG

    JBG

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    Good to see that the updates are coming along, the USB cable I was referring to came with the P3, that is the one I use.
     
  20. MariposaLand

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thank you all for the recommendations regarding updating the OS and resetting the pad. That is done but still no connection. I will have to look at cable. Will any USB to mini usb cable work? I asked the guy at Bestbuy what to get and he pointed to a row of mini usb cables. I picked the one with the shortest length.