newest member

Reaction score
Hello all,

I have recently purchased the phantom 2 vision. I am new to the UAV Drone world and have been a big proponent against the use of drones in society. However, I have come to realize that they are here, I can not change that, and I want to get in front of the revolution. I see that there is a world behind the mass media introversion of what drones are and how they can be used. Watching the many videos available online, I have come to see the beauty behind their use and what it is they and I can show the world. I am now hooked, lol.

Is it weird that now I look at life from the point of view of first person? Or is that the new norm?

flight-of-eye

Hello and welcome.

It's amazing how the perception changes if instead of "drone" you call it a "remote controlled quadcopter with a camera"! I also think it's a societal thing. Here in the UK, for example, there hasn't been such a big deal made about privacy or jurisdiction, and the commercial use of UAVs is legal and governed by the CAA provided you pass certain qualifications and work to a professional Ops Manual, etc. We're starting to see them used on TV programmes more and more, and so on. It's funny how people don't worry so much about Police choppers with much more powerful cameras than we've got, including IR for night vision, etc. When you fly a "drone" you soon realise that the only way you can invade someone's privacy to a greater extent than driving past their property on a public road and looking in, or looking from a neighbouring house upstairs window, is to hover so close in as to make yourself pretty **** obvious!

If everyone, regardless of jurisdiction, flies safely, with courtesy and respect for others and their property then we'll all get along just fine. People have been playing with RC aircraft and cameras for years. It was only the label "drone" that's changed opinion. Maybe we should ban the word from the forums?! ;)