Reaction score
Hello all, I am brand new to this forum and I'm actually brand new rotary drones. I will tell you a bit about me then I have some broad questions. I a former military helicopter pilot, I hold FAA commercial instrument rotary multi-engine licences. Following my Manned flight time I decided to try the world of Drones and I fell in love with it. I've managed approximately 23,000 hours of drone flight time both in the US (training) and in combat scenarios. All that said I was lucky enough to see a phantom 3 flying in Seattle a month ago and i was amazed at the performance of the aircraft.

The guy flying it gave me a run down of capabilities but I want to make sure he wasn't just giving me the sales pitch that DJI advertises and gave some real world data. Of note is all my drone time is fixed wing drones it is not rotary so I have no experience with quadcopters.

ok so what I hope to get from you guys.....
1) For a newbie is the Phantom 4 the right selection?
2) I saw some posts about the phantom 4 having go home issues that looked related to altitidue and obstacle avoidance. Is the the go home reliable?
3) One of the the things I was most impressed with is the guy that was flying told me the phantom is constantly running algorithms against battery charge. When it reaches a "bingo" energy type scenario it automatically goes home. Is this a true statement?
4) Flight time on a battery is 30 minutes?
5) Lastly in the event it does hit something or falls from the sky... how robust is it with surviving the fall?

Thanks for taking the time to read this extremely long thread but I appreciate any help.

Phantoms in general are easy to fly. If the P4 fits your budget, then it'll likely be a good choice for you. The P3A/P3P is also a good choice if you're looking for a more budget friendly model.

2) I saw some posts about the phantom 4 having go home issues that looked related to altitidue and obstacle avoidance. Is the the go home reliable?