Newbie questions

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a complete newbie from the UK (South Bucks) and just bought a Phantom 3 off eBay 2nd hand that's only been flown a few times. I did my first flight yesterday and everything worked as it should and I got some great pics and video. A couple of scares with a tree and flying out of range but got back safely.

I noticed though that the firmware was out of date and from what I can gather it can be troublesome to update so please could someone just guide me on the following:

1) is it essential to update the firmware - what difference does it actually make?
2) if I do try to update, is it significant that I have two batteries?
3) are there any other considerations?
4) if I buy a signal booster will this negate the need for a firmware upgrade in terms of a potential performance hike

Im over in Florida in early April and plan to take the P3 with me and am just scoping out the best case to buy to make sure that I can safely take it on as cabin baggage on Virgin/Delta.

Pouring with rain today so sadly no flying...

Thanks in advance for any help

Peter

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie from the UK (South Bucks) and just bought a Phantom 3 off eBay 2nd hand that's only been flown a few times. I did my first flight yesterday and everything worked as it should and I got some great pics and video. A couple of scares with a tree and flying out of range but got back safely.

I noticed though that the firmware was out of date and from what I can gather it can be troublesome to update so please could someone just guide me on the following:

1) is it essential to update the firmware - what difference does it actually make?
4) if I buy a signal booster will this negate the need for a firmware upgrade in terms of a potential performance hike

Im over in Florida in early April and plan to take the P3 with me and am just scoping out the best case to buy to make sure that I can safely take it on as cabin baggage on Virgin/Delta.

Peter