Newbie questions on legalities, wind, etc.

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I have been off, and on, into the RC hobby for a couple of years now, but in fairness most of my time has been spent researching/learning than actually flying. I suspect that I have less than 10 hours of real flight time between my Blade e-flite CX2 and the smaller syma S107. I won't go too much in detail, but I wanted set the stage that I am a newbie with some experience. I live in the east coast, USA.

My question(s):

1. Where I live the wind is almost always 5-20 MPH. It really varies, but >7-10 MPH gusts are very common. This made flying the Blade CX2 almost impossible outside and I see that the GPS will help stablize things, but am I better of sticking with indoor use? Something like the Hubsan X4 V2 H107L 2.4G 4CH RC Quadcopter RTF vs. the Phantom?

2. I live approximately 1 mile from a pretty big naval station and will flying this thing, even at line of sight, in my yard, will this pose a problem? If I do keep the order, should I reach out to the base or wait for the MP's to close in and question me? I am guessing that I will want to fly it on the beach once I gain enough experience to use it safely.

3. I see that there is a restriction on flying these 3 miles from an airport, but do Helipads also count in this restriction? I am less than 1 mile from two Helipads.

4. The only place that you are legally allowed to fly these are on your own property and on state land (parks, beaches, etc)? The question is really to understand the legal ramifications of learning to fly in a really large parking lot with no pedestrians/cars. I had no problem doing this with my Blade CX2, but I suspect that this would draw more attention.

5. Given #4 are the rules different without a camera? I suspect that adding a camera tends to increase the hostility of flying around and if you are just flying around then you may not experience as much hostility?

I appreciate any guidance - thank you!