Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Newbie question, why does the IOC feature do bugger all?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lukeglazebrook, May 16, 2014.

  1. lukeglazebrook

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was under the impression that the IOC toggle switch on the top left would bring the Phantom back to me if I lost orientation. I tested this feature in principle today the Phantom was at least 30ft away and it made no difference? Luckily I an a fairly experienced RC heli flyer but I wanted to test the feature to ensured it worked.

    Any idea's why it failed?
     
  2. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    If it didn't have a good home lock, it won't
     
  3. panhygrous pantler

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's that reading the manual thing again - maybe.

    Have you enabled NAZA-M mode? If not, you don't have access to IOC functionality.
     
  4. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Just as panhygrous pantler stated, are you in NAZA-M mode? I just switched mine yesterday when raining and tested it today and the feature worked perfectly.
     
  5. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    When you say that you expect the top left toggle switch to bring the Phantom back to you - that's a 3-way switch, so presumably you mean if you set it to position 3 (HL) and then pull back on the right stick - correct?

    If so, then yes, but only if you first enable Naza mode on the Phantom, and then enable IOC. Both done with the Phantom Assistant software.
     
  6. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    Study, study, study!!! Off, HL, CL, Course direction, home position, number of sats, GPS attitude, attitude, fail safe, intelligent mode, immediate mode, many CSCs, led indications, landing, go home and landing. And so much more. Need more info about what your switches were at and sticks and so on.
     
  7. doug86

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bi-Polar
    you have much studying to do....

    Did you enable NAZA-M? IF you did, then it is the RIGHT hand switch that can ( I say, can, only if you configure it to do so with the software assistant) be used to active RTH automatically. The left hand switch moved to homelock will bring the phantom back to it's home point if you pull the right hand stick down, or towards you.

    If your Phantom is still programed as from the factory, the left hand switch doesn't do much.

    Also, for the home lock feature to work, the phantom must be more than 10 meters away from you. You said it was 30', so assuming you did everything else correct, you probably were too close.
     
  8. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    By default both toggle switches are disabled (apart from being in GPS mode). Connect the Phantom to the assistant software & enable NAZA mode, then it will work. TIP: Set the bottom position on the R/H toggle to FAILSAFE just in case.
    ** Also worth noting if you fly it in MANUAL mode, there's absolutely no assistance from the GPS. Won't hover in place, nothing.
     
  9. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    hey luke, I humbly suggest you check on the former thread you created here. In it people including me described the functions you're asking about here, including the difference between Phantom and Naza modes and IOC, why you may want one or the other, and how to have a good simple Failsafe feature in Phantom mode by enabling it via the right toggle switch using Phantom Assistant.
     
  10. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    just want clarify here mate! technically that's not true... in Phantom mode the right switch isn't disabled, however both it's upper and lower positions are "NormalFly"... meaning nothing changes in terms of flight if you toggle it.

    One can change the lower toggle setting via Phantom Assistant to manually trigger Failsafe... and of course regain manual control by toggling back up to NormalFly. again this is in Phantom mode

    If you change the flight computer to Naza mode then toggling the right switch enables ATTI modes which further enable the CL/HL functions on the left toggle. I haven't bothered to switch to Naza mode because for me, manually triggering Failsafe in Phantom mode accomplishes what I want (autopilot RTH + descend) so I can't say if you can change the bottom setting on the toggle to also trigger failsafe, I just wanted to mention that the feature is indeed available in Phantom mode, you don't have to switch to Naza just to get a manual Failsafe option.

    I edited out the part about flying in Manual mode because you were spot on there... full manual mode = no GPS assist.. very difficult to fly and not recommended except for experts!
     
  11. doug86

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bi-Polar
    They are not disabled by default. The Phantom comes from the factory programed so the S1 switch is used to enter the compass calibration, and the S2 switch will reset your home position. In either case, one has to flip the switches up and down at least 5 times quickly to get those results. The factory default mode is also known as "Phantom" mode.

    EDIT: oh, and S1 can also be used to regain control during a failsafe RTH once the craft if back in range. (pg 42 Vision Manual). Perhaps the most important feature of the switches in Phantom mode.

    When in NAZA mode, the switches act quite differently.

    :D
     
  12. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    What exactly is the difference between ATT and manual modes? I thought ATT mode didn't use GPS, that if you were moving laterally and let go of the stick, it would just keep going until you counteracted the motion or inertia ran out....
     
  13. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    ATTI is still an autopilot mode, maintaining altitude and stability, just not position. In MANUAL it maintains nothing at all - you have full control.
     
  14. doug86

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bi-Polar
    ATTI mode still uses info from the compass and barometer to help maintain stability, including altitude, but it doesn't hold position.