newbie question regarding range and line-of-sight

Reaction score
Hi, I know this is probably an ignorant question, but the answer is of no small importance to me, since I'll be flying mostly in wooded areas where I may not have a good line-of-sight view of the aircraft, or that LOS view may be through trees. How much does not being in "direct line of sight" influence range and controllability of a Phantom 2? Does the range shrink the more "stuff" is between my transmitter and the aircraft?

I'm a noob at this too but what I've seen is that if my phantom is way out there (>800 m, that's way out there for me :D) and I rotate it my video breaks up and sometimes the screen goes blue ... And my heart skips a few beats.

Then too if it's out like 100m and there's like a bunch of trees between me and it the the picture breaks up and it's noisy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You really need LOS to have full control. The more there is between you and the P2 the higher the risk of loosing control. If it goes into failsafe due to loss of connection between you and the aircraft and you are low and there are trees in the way it is looking like a crash in the making. Advice is keep LOS for control.

Sent from my Galaxy Note 8

Almmohd said:
I'm a noob at this too but what I've seen is that if my phantom is way out there (>800 m, that's way out there for me :D) and I rotate it my video breaks up and sometimes the screen goes blue ... And my heart skips a few beats.

Then too if it's out like 100m and there's like a bunch of trees between me and it the the picture breaks up and it's noisy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk