Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Newbie question on "Servo" channels

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by slothead, Jul 25, 2014.

  1. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    I'm a very VERY new user of RC systems, and I searched in the BRAND NEW (version 1.2) user's manual and found nothing, so here is my question: I have seen mention of the channel 7 mod, and so I have to assume that there are 6 active channels already being used in the Phantom's control protocol. What are the frequencies of these 6 channels?

    Thanks,
     
  2. cahutch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sonoma County, CA
    The channels aren't different frequencies, they are digital control "channels" that link a physical control on the transmitter to a specific servo.
    In modern RC, the transmitter is a spread spectrum type that doesn't use a single discrete frequency, but hops across all channels in the frequency range.
    The control signal is digital now instead of analog tone based like it was in the past.

    So in theory, you could transmit as many control "channels" as you wanted if the digital programming is there to link those control "channels" to a specific servo.
    Usually the receiver has a limited number of output channels, each one tied to a specific servo connector.

    The Phantom 2 transmitter has 6 controls with a 7th control "pot" unused on the back of the controller.
    That 7th pot is linked to the camera gimbal pitch control.
     
  3. WyattEarp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are the other 6; forward, right, backward, left, up, down? Where is rotate left and rotate right?
     
  4. cahutch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sonoma County, CA
    Throttle (up and down is one channel)
    Yaw (both directions)
    Pitch (Forward/Backward)
    Roll (Left/Right)
    Switch1
    Switch2

    You can see them (all 7) in the RC Assistant program.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Think about channels required to control airplane functions, with Phantom controls in ():

    1 - Throttle (up/down)
    2 - Ailerons (roll left/right)
    3 - Elevator (forward/back)
    4 - Rudder (yaw left/right)
    5 - Gear (S1 switch positions)
    6 - Flaps (S2 switch positions)
    7 - Elevator 2, Thrust-vectoring, etc.. (camera tilt)

    * Note how some of these functions share a single channel
     
  6. M.Tigelaar

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    DB,
    Did you now what 1080p means?

    1080posts :lol: :lol: :lol:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    We already missed it because you are up to 1082 now! :)
     
  8. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    I'm upgrading to 4K rez! ;)
     
  9. WyattEarp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Newbie question on "Servo" channels

    So can someone point me to the thread that shows how to upgrade the transmitter to handle the 7th channel on the Vision+ - how do you add the lever to the rear of TX?

    Thanks
     
  10. cahutch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sonoma County, CA
    The official DJI part is available here, with installation instructions.
    http://www.helipal.com/phantom-24-phant ... lever.html

    The 7th channel works on the p2V+ only until you connect with the DJI Vision app, at which point it stops working.
    Some enterprising hackers are supposed to be adding an option in their app to re-enable it after the Vision app is running.

    you'll need to calibrate the lever in the RC assistant for it to work smoothly
     
  11. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Re: Newbie question on

    The link to purchase the lever has already been posted, but it is kind of a waste unless someone figures a way to prevent the Vision+ app from disabling the lever. The lever does work, but as soon as you run the app it becomes inoperative.
     
  12. WyattEarp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking at a couple folks who are working on the issue via an app.
     
  13. cahutch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sonoma County, CA