Newbie question on Low battery RTH feature

Reaction score
Hello! I recently became the (proud - and somewhat poorer) owner of a DJI Phantom 2, just starting to get to grips with it :)

I have a short question regarding the low battery/RTH feature. I did a quick search on the web, but didn't find a direct response to the question, although I imagine that I'm not the first person to ask it by any means, so my apologies for no doubt repeating an oft-posed question.
Basically I assumed (wrongly, it would appear) that when the Phantom reached low battery level, then critical low battery, at some point it would automatically land or return to home, depending on how it's configured (a check box in the Assistant software for the latter if I understand correctly). So yesterday I kept my Phantom flying, through the red flashing Low battery warning, and then the faster flashing 'Critically low' warning, expecting the Phantom to land of its own accord at some point (like I said, I'm a newbie). I did however take the precaution of flying it only a couple of feet above the ground at this stage. So the battery finally emptied completely and the Phantom dropped dead to the ground (with a disturbing bump - thankfully it was on pretty soft grassy ground). So the lesson I learned from this is that as long as you don't relinquish control on the remote during the low battery phases it'll keep flying (albeit a bit less energetically), thus overrding any auto-land/RTH procedure, it's only when you release the sticks that it'll land or RTH automatically?

I'd really like to know if I'm missing a configuration parameter somewhere, or if normal operation is that use of the RC does indeed override any auto 'low battery' mechanisms and you have to 'relinquish control' for them to kick in!