Newbie old guy here!

Reaction score
Hi all,
I've been an r/c pilot since the 70's, I'm getting interested in this drone hobby and the phantom 3 looks like what I want. The problem is I don't use a smart phone so my question is do I have to invest in an Ipad or is there a cheaper way to go? also do you have to have an internet connection for the fpv video feed?
Thanks!

Welcome to Phantom Pilots :)

The problem is I don't use a smart phone so my question is do I have to invest in an Ipad or is there a cheaper way to go? also do you have to have an internet connection for the fpv video feed?
Thanks!
Android devices are less expensive than Apple devices. They can work just as well when configured properly. Check out this list of compatible devices.

lso do you have to have an internet connection for the fpv video feed
Nope. You just have to cache the maps on your mobile device before flying while you do have an Internet connection. That way, the map images will be downloaded and stored offline -- ready for when you're out flying without an Internet connection.

It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Phantom Pilots forum jangles. I hope that you will take advantage of the benefits that come with membership and that you will be able to use the forum for the exchange of innovative ideas and as a resource for current developments in Phantom quadcopter’s.

You can't go wrong with the Phantom 3 in any of it's three flavors. I'm sure you will enjoy flying them as much as your others.

Hi all,
I've been an r/c pilot since the 70's, I'm getting interested in this drone hobby and the phantom 3 looks like what I want. The problem is I don't use a smart phone so my question is do I have to invest in an Ipad or is there a cheaper way to go? also do you have to have an internet connection for the fpv video feed?
Thanks!
I'm waiting to my nvidia shield , but the nexua 7 works really well and is cheaper

Thanks for all your info. I was looking at the ipad 2 mini.