Newbie looking for a drone. Help please!

Reaction score
Glad I found this forum. I'm considering getting a drone for fun aerial videos, of the boat, house and generally just playing around with it and taking various videos. I have no RC experience but saw a few videos of boats shot with a DJI Phantom Vision 2 and love the idea of shooting videos from this vantage point.

I don't want to assemble a kit or make a wish list of parts and put together a drone with camera. Guess what I am asking is there a turn key out of the box drone that would work for me? Having a built in camera would be OK but I am not against getting a GoPro as I would use it as a stand alone video camera for other activities, like on my boat.

Any feedback or advice would be great. I use a MacBook Pro and an iPhone 5s if that makes a difference at all.

Lastly, as this could be a hobby that flames out quickly I do not want to spend more than $1,000. I'm even OK going used via classifieds, members looking to upgrade or even a craigslist find.

Thanks for all of the help.

JK

Re: Newbie looking for a drone with camera. Help please!

Starting at $499 at your local Amazon website.

http://www.amazon.com/DJI-Phantom-Q...1397949571&sr=8-6&keywords=phantom+quadcopter

51L8E3bp0tL._SL1500_.jpg

If you hang on a little longer you will be able to pick up 2 phantom visions for a thousand :mrgreen:

Check out the options this member has available right now: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12880

I'd suggest you look at "package option B" there (detailed near the bottom), add a go pro to that and you're still well under $1k

Option A is a great deal too, but you'd have to factor in the cost of the gopro on top of that.

I was...and am pretty much at the same place you are...wanting a 'turn-key' operation and having had NO previous RC experience. Here is the link to the review I did for Amazon last fall shortly after I got my Phantom 2 Vision.

http://www.amazon.com/review/RZJ7YGVLAT ... -and-games