Newbie lessons learned

Reaction score
This past weekend was the first time I flew my Phantom 2 Vision +. It was a great experience and thought I'd share some of my newbie lessons learned...

Last month, I didn't even think I wanted a phantom. I purchased a Syma X5C ($60 quad with camera) for myself for Christmas. I opened it a few weeks ago and started flying it. For $60, it is a great item... especially with the ability to take [crappy] photos and video. After going on YouTube and watching some videos for the X5C, I saw some videos for the Phantom. I heard about DJI, but never really read anything about their products. Well, for the next couple of weeks, I was watching tons of videos about the DJI products and knew I needed to get either the Phantom 2 Vision + or the Inspire 1. As a newbie, I decided to go with the cheaper of my two choices. I ordered my Phantom on Amazon (prime) and received it a few days later. However, it was still about a week before I started flying it. I found this forum and took a great interest in the "Important Stickies" thread. I spent about four days reading and re-reading "The Ultimate Guide" and watching all of the videos which are linked in the document. That guide is AWESOME and has tons of information. I wanted to make SURE that I knew how to operate and understand this aircraft.

If you have just purchased or will soon purchase a Phantom, DO NOT FLY IT without reading all DJI documentation, "The Ultimate Guide," and watching all of the linked videos found in the guide. There is a tremendous amount of information and resources in these documents and tutorial videos.