Newbie just about to purchase quesitions

Reaction score
Hi all,
Spent quite a bit of time reading up on drones. After all I have no experience and this will be my first purchase. I've been looking at the Phanton Vision + because I like the look of the gimble allowing for smooth video footage. However I'm wondering if a similar gimble can be attached to this model or others using a gopro which I can then use outside of the phantom?

Also interested to know the 'usual' mods that you do to increase the range etc.

Any info much appreciated.

cheers :)

With the GoPro version, you'll be spending a few hundred more than the V+ to get FPV. I have no idea where you are from, but to give you some idea, here in Australia I spent about $1800 on the V+. I looked at the GoPro version, but if I wanted to see what I was filming (the way you can with the V+), it was going to cost me around $2400 all up.

shabba007 said:
Hi all,
Spent quite a bit of time reading up on drones. After all I have no experience and this will be my first purchase. I've been looking at the Phanton Vision + because I like the look of the gimble allowing for smooth video footage. However I'm wondering if a similar gimble can be attached to this model or others using a gopro which I can then use outside of the phantom?

Also interested to know the 'usual' mods that you do to increase the range etc.

Any info much appreciated.

cheers :)

If you've never flown before... I wouldn't worry too much about mods to increase range... You need to get comfortable eight the quad as it is...which has plenty enough range to make it a small dot in the air.

thanks for the replies. I'm interested in the mods from a research point of view. I like to know that the kit i'm buying has the potential to be modded/upgraded etc. I wouldn't do any moding until I was comfortable flying.