NEWBIE Homelock-Should I or Shouldn't I

Reaction score
Hi,
I am brand new to the Phantom, and just purchased a Phantom 2 (non-vision). I am still nervous about flying due to all the "Fly-away" news online. I have gotten conflicting info about enabling HomeLock and Courselock. The guy at the store and a friend who's been flying for a while told me to ONLY fly in Phantom mode and DO NOT go into NAZA settings. If I'm in trouble, I can just turn off radio and it will return to home. BUT, in reading info online and watching YOU TUBE videos, some people say it is HIGH ADVISED to enable HOME LOCK in the event I lose orientation and want to make sure it flies back to me.
For a while, I intend to keep it close and in visual range, but I don't understand why you WOULDN'T enable HOME LOCK.
Thanks so much,
Steve

Naza mode and IOC is great. Just because you have them available to you doesn't mean you have to use them until you understand how they work.

Thanks for the reply. Is there any reason I am been told not to go into Advanced NAZA settings. Ie can I still fly in basic GPS Phantom mode with both switches set to top position...there is nothing "more advanced" about opening the NAZA settings when it comes to that position?
Also is ATTI, right switch position 2, a good thing to use, if the Phantom starts trying to flyway?
Thanks again,
Steve