Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Newbie gimbal question

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by dropabomb, Oct 4, 2015.

  1. dropabomb

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi so got the bird up a few times today but I'm kinda at a loss with how the gimbal stays in a down, kinda limp gloating state when the phantom is not turned on. Seems cry flimsy and I could foresee this being an issue. Are you guys placing the little plastic piece from shipping that is removed during first flight to hold the camera 'still" while is powered down? If not do u just let yours hang while not using? Thanks
     
    mmee1992 likes this.
  2. mmee1992

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    139
    Yes that is what the plastic pice is for. Not just shipping. It is a gimbal clamp to keep the gimbal steady when it isn't powered.
     
  3. mmee1992

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    139
    Though I will say the clamp is not very good. A lot of better aftermarket options available. I think you can find some on phantomhelp.com.
     
  4. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1444001911.037455.jpg

    Most people install a gimbal clamp to keep it stationary and so it doesn't get messed up during transport.

    But be sure you take it off before powering on your Phantom or it could damage the gimbal.
     
    #4 Jbundy63, Oct 4, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2015
  5. TedroC

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just let it hang when it's sitting on the shelf and not being used. You only need the clamp when transporting. It hangs because it is not powered up. There's nothing flimsy about it.
     
  6. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    There is nothing wrong wit the gimbal lock that is supplied with the P3-- if it is installed properly-- it is quit easy to install properly if you tip the Phantom over on the right arms so you can see the notch in the gimbal mount that it slides into-- if fits firmly and will not come out. They come loose because they are not properly installed.:)
     
    mmee1992 likes this.
  7. vlper

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    answer to that is no, we put it on after its powered down and hanging. When the gimbal motors are energized it is best not to touch it as it will oppose any motion!
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  8. mmee1992

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    139
    I install mine that way all the time and somehow it still falls off in my case. There are way better options out there.
     
  9. lotusteve

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    sheffield uk
    this type of gimbal holder is ok if you dont fit the ND filters. (it wont fit over them when the ND filter is on the phantom)
     
  10. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    Yeah I use the filter inserts from Phantomfilters.com which go in behind the factory ND filter. So this works good for that set up.