Newbie Fear

Reaction score
I've been flying a P2V+V3 for about 3 weeks now, almost every day, and have 40+ battery flights. I have this fear of letting my bird get too far away or too high. I stay within a 100 ft radius and just practice maneuvers and control. I fly in Naza mode and practice with CL, HL, RTH, and almost always in ATTI.

However, Every time the P2 gets a little far away it makes me very nervous and I immediately bring it back. I have a phone/reward sticker and a Drone-Mods tracker, yet I'm still hesitant to get too far away. So yesterday I started practicing control using the radar in hopes it will boost my confidence.

I read about may of you flyers who routinely go 1000 to 2000 feet away and seemingly have no fear. So, I know it's ridiculous, and I blame it on all the flyaway hype and posts and how much I really like my drone and fear losing it, but I can't be the only one who has gone through this...so now I'm thinking about a stage 1 antenna upgrade....

I was a little nervous like you describe back when I was new, but I used the Assistant software to enable "go home" manually via the S1 toggle so I could manually test the GoHome feature. Once I became confident that GoHome worked properly, I lost all my fear of long range flying. As long as you fly smart like, don't let obstacles get between Phantom and Home Point .. knowing your Phantom has a good flight line home then you can be a lot less nervous about flying farther away even if you lose touch with the craft you know it'll just come back to you. test it first short range, then longer.. sometimes if I know I'm going to make a really long distance flight I'll test GoHome at short range quickly right when I take off to confirm it's got a good home point then zoom! off I go.

don't forget you can toggle S1 (the right RC switch) while it's in GoHome and get control back.. assuming the RC and craft are communicating.