Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Vision 2 plus unable to down load driver installer

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by Allyoung, Feb 25, 2016.

  1. Allyoung

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Our phantom hasn't even left the ground and we are having problems. I have downloaded vision plus assistant , Rc assistant but it will not download driver installer.
    Have tried running it on windows 10 & 8, turned fire wall off, deleted cache, cookies and history, swore at it and even gave it 'the look' but no luck. Please someone offer advice on what I am doing wrong as at the moment all I can see is a lump of expensive plastic that is only good for the bin, also having to contend with a grumpy husband who wants to go out and play.
    Forgot to mention when I attempt to down load it says download is corrupt. Have tried several different links but they all remain saying the same thing.
     
  2. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
  3. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Windows 10 has to many problems. Of course windows 8 had it's own set of problems and that is why they came out with OS 8.1. My tablet use 8.1 OS and both assistant programs work on it.

    As for the windows driver that has to be loaded into the P2 in order for it assistant software to be recognized. If you still cannot get it to work with either OS's find a computer with 8.1 or 7 OS.
     
  4. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    I just followed link above and dl the driver

    It is saying corrupt or etc but you can continue with install if you click thru the warning screens and messages about unsigned app etc.

    once downloaded , highlight it and right click and chose run as administrator!


    I dont have my p2 anymore to test but it did appear to install

    off subject.
    I have a 5 win 10 pc's at home and this is one .
    No issues at all on mine , running over a year on 2 of them.
    Fast and secure, 16 seconds from power button to typing.
     
  5. Allyoung

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Thanks for your help, have tried to save and run following your link but still coming up as 'the signature of dji_win_driver_installer.exe is corrupt and invalid'
     
  6. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    you need to keep going past that screen ignore it

    download zip file
    go to file location it dl to.

    click to extract all

    right click on the extracted file
    run as admin

    it will pop red warning up---ignore it

    click more info

    click run anyway

    good luck

    I just did this now again to test
     
  7. Allyoung

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    You absolute star. Driver installation now on my laptop. Thank you very very much.
     
  8. Toelis

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I read more about this problem. In my opinion it is a Windows 10 problem. I couldn't install the driver under Windows 10. Then I installed Windows 7 at that PC, and see, it works properly. Installed Windows 10 again leaving the Windows 7 environment. The installed RC-Assistent then didn't work. Removed Windows 10, installed Windows 7 again and suddenly it was saturday evening :))))
    And under Windows 7 de USB driver installed well and RC-assistent also worked properly.
     
  9. Allyoung

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Hmmm spoke too soon. All downloads on laptop running windows 8.1 with Mcafee but don't seem to be able to connect and give me the blue light. Dug my old windows 7 laptop out that has no security and is only used for storing pictures.
    Running sweet as. Configured, calabrated & updated. Not sure which part of the change has made it work !
    Going out for its maiden voyage tomorrow if it's not too wet & windy.
     
  10. Toelis

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you fly today ?
     
  11. Allyoung

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    @Toelis we did indeed. The phantom came back in one piece, having only one battery meant our outing wasn't very long but it was good fun. Have some great first pics and videos. Def investing in a couple more batteries.
     
  12. Toelis

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great feeling !!!!
     
  13. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    good to hear

    someone says that is a defect in win 10, it is not , it is security as old apps are often trouble...

    but now you see what is was doing, it is higher level security that stops a lot of the old issues.
    change is good,
    frustrating at times but look at that new toy your playing with...