Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New Up-date

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by ThommyBoy, Jun 15, 2015.

  1. ThommyBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Midwest
    I did the new up-date today and everything's fine except I can't rise above the FAA's 400' limit. I've got my ceiling set in the pilot app well above that. If I take off from a valley and what I'm trying to film is 200' above me I can't get high enough to photograph a hill top acreage. What's the fix?
     
  2. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    Are you in a flight restricted zone such as withing 5 miles of an airport?
     
  3. AerialEyeProductions

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    ^^^^ good thought
     
  4. AHill

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    23
    Check your settings in the app, when I did the update it reset some of the settings to the original defaults including the height limit setting.
     
  5. suck it up

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    72
    ^^^^^ This.............
     
  6. ThommyBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Midwest
    No. Yesterday before the up-date, I flew up to 800'+.
     
  7. rhoffart

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    The update reset you to factory settings
     
  8. suck it up

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    72
    Your settings were reset, go back through and put them all back to what you want....................
     
  9. gfredrone

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    191
    Update resets max height to 120 meters or ~394 feet.
     
  10. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I don't know anything about programming, but it just seems like sloppy coding that doesn't respect the user's settings when updating firmware. Is it necessary to reset them? If so, it should at least inform you of that somewhere during the process.
     
  11. Steve Moore

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Topeka, Ks
    All settings are store in a database of sorts.. that database was likely totally recreated during the upgrade to handle some new option, whether internal or user accessible. Recreating the database s the safest way to build an update. HOPING for a database conversion is nothing short of reckless. So no.. its not lazy programming. Its erring on the side of safety for all those involved
     
  12. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    And that is an answer I can accept. That should also be stated somewhere in the update notes. Let us know then, before finding out in the field, where it could spell disaster.
     
    Steve Moore likes this.
  13. caffeinated

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    60
    Agreed, it's not so much the settings being clobbered but release notes or first use post upgrade should warn:
    a) note your settings before applying upgrade.
    b) settings that will be lost during upgrade.
    c) to reapply your settings after upgrade.

    (obviously only b and c possible if posthumous note in app)
     
  14. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    I don't know... Even if you change the database completely the data can and should be saved. Companies do it all the time when they upgrade systems.
     
  15. ThommyBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Midwest
    Yes. That's the answer. Not all the settings reverted to default, but the height limit did. All OK now.