Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

New transmitter with tilt question???

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Gonefishing51077, Jan 18, 2015.

  1. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just received my new transmitter and I'm kinda disappointed that it always returns to the same position. I was hoping you could tilt to one spot and it would hold. Have any of you found away around the "auto return position"?

    Thanks.
     
  2. QuadCopper

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    although the dial does not hold its position, the camera does.
     
  3. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    My camera returns to its start portion when I release tilt wheel. It's almost slingshots back to its start position. Does it very fast.
     
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Uninstall RC1.1
    Install RC1.2. Calibrate all sticks and move X1 tilt dial and finalise.
    Then Start Phantom Assist 3.6. Calibrate all sticks and X1 Tilt Dial. Then select "upgrade mode".
    Upgrade mode will make the camera stay at a given point when you release. The further you push the tilt, the faster the travel.
     
  5. QuadCopper

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, do this... I performed both of these actions before I first used my controller and mine functions as intended.
     
  6. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Will try this and let you know how it works.

    Thanks guys.
     
  7. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    How do you uninstall RC1.1? I do not see that option on th phantom software
     
  8. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    If you have NEVER installed RC1.1 then don't worry.
    Just install the RC1.2
     
  9. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well. I tried this a dozen times. Still doesn't work. Still goes back to its original position.
     
  10. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Are you sure that you have selected 'upgrade mode' in the assistant? Mine works like a charm
     
  11. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    When you say upgrade mode are you referring to clicking the box by the new style transmitter... The transmitter with tilt wheel?
     
  12. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    I don't have assistant on this computer (at work) but from memory it's a box about halfway down the screen with two options - one is upgraded transmitter. You have to select that one. I think there's a sticky from Mopar Bob about how to set it up right. Involves calibrating everything from scratch. I followed that and mine works like a dream. Best £100 I've spent on anything phantom related!
     
  13. PhilD13

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    You cannot use the RC System 1.1 Assistant software to calibrate the X1 Channel (gimbal wheel). It is stated very clear in the software screen that you must use the Vision Assistant program to calibrate X!.

    To use the Vision Assistant software.

    Download and install the latest version (3.6) if you have not already done so.
    Remove the props for safety and Connect the phantom to your computer
    Open the Vision assistant program and let it connect to the phantom.

    The Vision Assistant screen tab you want with the box on it is: Basic button > RC tab.
    Under transmitter version section partway down the page, check the box "Upgrade Version"
    Then do a calibration of the sticks.
    Then do the X1 Calibration as this is the gimbal tilt wheel.
    Save everything
    power cycle everything.

    Connect to the phantom again after the power cycle and open Vision Assistant and verify that the sticks and X1 are centered.

    The Vision Assistant is also where you enable Naza mode if you wish to use (it is recommended to) that mode.
     
  14. rpangili

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem as Gonefishing510077. I did as suggested in this thread. Uninstalled RC1.1. Installed RC1.2. Did calibration. Then used Vision Assistant 3.6 switched to Upgrade Version, recalibrated the sticks and X1. Power cycled. Tilt wheel function working but does NOT stop when you let go of wheel. It returns about 45 degrees down. It's as if the wheel doesn't "know" how to let go of the camera when wheel naturally returns to center.

    Any other suggestions?
     
  15. rpangili

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    UPDATE: Did every upgrade firmware/software upgrade listed even if it looked like it was already installed. Uninstalled Vision Assistant 3.6 and reinstalled from website again. Then ran RC1.2 with x1 calibration and then PC 3.6. Power cycled. Then tried again....it worked!

    I guess reinstalling all software did help!

    Thanks everyone for suggestions!
     
  16. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have tried everything listed above and it will not work. No matter how many power cycles. I am using all the newest software.
    If I can not get it to work I'll go back to my old transmitter.
     
  17. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Yes. The new style.

    It shouldn't matter though new or not. It just changes the way the X1/CH7 behaves.
    Upgrade is relative meaning it works like a car accelerator. The further you push it, the faster it travels. When you stop pushing it, it stops.
    Basic mode = absolute mode. It works like a steering wheel. If you leave your steering wheel in that position, it stays in that position.
     
  18. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Even though the RC 1.1 states that is does NOT calibrate the X1, just move the tilt wheel in the calibration.
    Same RC 1.2 as well. Need to remember that the software/manuals are translated via broken English.
     
  19. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well I have spent most of my night jacking with this POS and it still will not work correctly. I have deleted all software and reinstalled it. Don't the calibrations in both the RC software and the assistant software. Done power cycles after each one.
    I went back a read a bunch of notes and stickies on this issue and tried them all. NOTHING FIXED IT.
    I'm at a lose. Every time I let go of gimbal wheel it slings back to it starting point.

    Guess I wasted $100 and over 5 hours of testing time on this.
     
  20. Gonefishing51077

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    One thing I have noticed is that on the view tab in the phantom assistant under basic the "U" indicator right above the X2 line is jumping from left to right. Is that normal. Maybe that's causing my issue.